Clearing bushland and light home renovations near Murwillumbah in New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 129 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/01/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We were looking forward to hosting, after COVID. As we know now, things are much more dangerous than we thought they would be. As David has EXTREME vulnerability we will only accept volunteers who have been nowhere near a COVID hotspot and who are willing to quarantine with us with the whole time of their stay.

    We would prefer a couple so that you can entertain each other a bit. When we go into town for groceries we expect you to stay close. We will take you to the beach or rainforest with us from time to time but there will be NO contact with other people unless you practice social distancing and wear a mask.

    If you think you can follow these onerous conditions, please feel free to apply!



    We are located in the Northern Rivers Region near Mount Warning, Byron Bay and the Gold Coast. You will be staying with an expatriate Canadian 75 years of age and a Kiwi 58 years; both rather younger at heart. We are non smokers, infrequent drinkers, and love conversation about science, politics and environmentalism!

    We run our internet business from home so we will be here 6 days a week on average.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Both being expatriates and very longtime Australians (since 1970!), we have a unique and comprehensive view of Australia and Australians. Our understanding of Australian society is broad and deep because we are so enthusiastic about environmentalism, politics, the arts, history, business, tourism and communication.

    Much of the knowledge we have accrued about Australia can be found on our website, (search for bigvolcano) which promotes tourism in our region and Australia generally.

    We love this country and love to share it with visitors, especially young people! We really enjoy the company of our volunteers from overseas because it widens our horizons too.

  • Help

    Help

    A couple, or two singles, are needed to help with clearing and planting a fairly steep slope of native bush in order to mitigate bushfire vulnerability for the house. We also need clearing of feral plants (lantana, blue top, camphor laurel etc.), road work and rock wall building.

    We need help with housework and cooking too, We are now also looking for helpers with carpentry and renovations skills. There is plenty of work for rainy days. Please lord, send some rainy days!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a comfortable bedroom available with a queen bed for a couple and a bed available in our (camper) van for the second worker if needed.

    We have a well equipped modern split level home with good TV reception and broadband internet with wifi connectivity. Our service has been recently upgraded meaning Skype works very well.

    Recently Telstra, the largest national mobile carrier. commissioned a new tower nearby. So we now have good mobile phone coverage too! We also have quite a good library of books CD's, DVD's and BluRays.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will see from the photos that we are immersed in the forest. The property is almost fully covered in sclerophyll forest with pockets of rainforest in the gullies. We are adjacent to the Border Ranges and Lamington National Parks.

    We have no domestic animals; no pets, no chickens, no cows or horses. The little stallion that is shown is the photo below belongs to our neighbor.

    There are, however, resident animals of many sorts. Half a dozen red-necked pademelons (little wallabies), red-necked wallabies, and grey kangaroos are often about trimming the grass. A huge 1.8 meter long lace monitor sometimes visits for water and to bask in the sun and a truly humungous echidna spends time disassembling our rock wall and tiled patio to get at the ants!

    We have identified over 95 species of birds on the property. King parrots, crimson rosellas, and rainbow lorikeets are the most frequent visitors. Bower birds visit in flocks of 30 or 40 and red tailed and yellow tailed cockatoos and even wedge tailed eagles are seen from time to time. If you are into nature you will love it here!

    We have been certified as a refuge for "Land for Wildlife". Yeah!!!

    There is not much to do around here in your spare time except go for walks and appreciate the birdlife and wildlife so if you want action in your off time, you will definitely need a vehicle. We have a pair of mountain bikes so you will be able to explore the local area!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day (25 hours per week)










Host ref number: 342567696255