updated  

Helpful person around the house and garden in Warrandyte, outskirts of Melbourne

  • Favourited 47 times
  • Last activity: 14 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    We are a family of 4 living in a beautiful part of Melbourne called Warrandyte. It is on the outskirts of Melbourne, next to the Yarra River and a small township. It is about 40 minutes to get into the city, and there are bus and train options. We have a 7 year old boy Noah and a 4 year boy Ari. We have a cat, Townes. John is a musician and music teacher, and Felicity is an organic vegetable grower, Mother and Parenting Coach.

    We have moved here 1.5years ago from the city. Our property is an acre and we have lots we want to do here to tend the land and home! We are visited by echidnas, kangaroos, and beautiful birdlife.

    We welcome 2 different types of people/skillsets:
    1. Someone handy and who is up for outside physical jobs
    - remove weed species in our back section of the property, and process the wood into smaller bits to store for firewood / burn off the green stuff.
    - if you have building skills, we would love help with fixing up retaining walls; building compost bays; erecting orchard enclosure; compost toilet etc.
    - mowing, weeding, woodchopping

    2. Someone who is willing to help with domestic tasks - tidying main spaces; deep clean of areas; laundry help; connecting and being with our kids

    Maybe you have all these skills and would like to move between the inside and outside jobs.

    Ideally you'll work weekday mornings 9-1.30p but we can be flexible with this and may ask you if you're willing to help at various hours. You can always say no to that!

    Felicity runs parenting groups at home and John facilitates a community choir here at home too. We usually have guests over on Friday night for Shabbat Dinner. We love ritual and on Friday nights we often invite storytelling, singing and other types of deeper sharing. Our children go to the local Steiner School and Felicity is studying Steiner education.

    We have a bus stop near to our house, that takes you into Warrandyte township, or in to Eltham where trains run into the city. We are a 5 minute walk to the Yarra River where you can swim, bushwalk, birdwatch, kayak.

    We sound like a very active family but we also value quietness and stability, so we do have patches where we are more introverted.
    Our children dont watch screens and we ask that computer and phone calls are made in your room.
    We eat dinner together with you, and other meals are help yourself. We ask that you help with Dishes at night after dinner as we are putting the kids to bed, if you are at home.

    Accomodation is in our spare mudbrick room, its gorgeous. There's a bathroom that attaches to it.

    We look forward to hearing from you, meeting you and welcoming you into our home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a welcoming family. We love to sing together and share stories from our day. We are interested in living mindfully. Our 1 acre bush property offers you a quiet place to land and meaningful work to do. And all the life of Melbourne is close to access, as well as the bush lands over the hill in the Yarra Valley.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help in our home with laundry, dishes, cooking, tidying
    Babysitting -playing with the kids for little bits of time
    Building projects: compost toilet, outdoor bush kitchen
    Property maintenance: mowing, weeding, pruning, wood chopping and collecting, chainsawing
    Fix-it jobs around the house and property

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we have a mudbrick room with bathroom for you to stay in. It is large and there is heater for the cold months. It stays nice and cool in the summer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bushwalking, birdwatching, kayaking, bike riding, Farmers Markets. Melbourne's vibrant cafe, arts, music life just nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    It is possible for us to accept dogs but we'll need to chat about it before you come

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours - usually 9am -1.30pm with a half hour break

Host ref number: 536236122855

Feedback (5)



Feedback






Help out on a permaculture inspired small holding in Central Victoria, Australia
Join our family in Gold Coast, Australia