Rural family idyll seeking help with kids and garden, Liglet, France

  • France
  • Favourited 91 times
  • Last activity: 27 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    French & English speaking family in beautiful rural France, with an organic permaculture garden, forest and river, and 3 curious, bright children. Our eldest daughter has additional educational needs for communication and literacy, so enthusiastic and engaging helpers who are keen to learn about alternative communication and emergent literacy support particularly welcome (ie if you love reading with kids :) ). Lots of options for getting involved with our many projects, family life and/or local charity work (around inclusion/disability, gardening, organic and eco living...).
    We have a dog, chickens and a busy beehive.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I worked as a French teacher for many years, so it's a good place to work on your French! We all speak English too however, if necessary. We are active in local voluntary organisations, so you are welcome to get involved with communication and disability advocacy. We have an organic polytunnel, garden and orchard, so plenty of practical experience available.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need help with activities with the kids, cooking, gardening, housework and forest management. We have eco-projects on the go too (stripping wallpaper, painting, renovation work and creating a summer kitchen...), so depending on your interests and skill set, there is plenty to work on! Help with the school run would be great, once you are familiar with the kids, so a driving licence would be a plus.
    We are in a quiet rural area, so when the kids are at school it is quite quiet... it suits people who are happy with some quiet time for reading, music, walking etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I have taught French and English and am interested in learning new languages. My Spanish is very rusty, but very happy to have the opportunity to practise :)

  • Accommodation


    Independent holiday cottage available which would suit an individual, couple or two people travelling together (it's quite cold in winter though!). You'll have your own bathroom, but meals can be eaten with the family, to be decided with you according to your preferences. Help with food preparation very welcome. If you are travelling alone, we are happy to include you in the family but if you are travelling as a couple and want your own space, that can work fine too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beautiful rural area with lots of birds, insects, forests and rivers, close to the Brenne natural park (famous for migrating birds) and St Savin's UNESCO listed abbey. Would suit nature lovers interested in photography, writing, painting, cycling or similar... Bikes available and occasional use of the family car, but due to the rural nature of the property (2kms to the nearest village) it might suit you better if you have your own wheels (can collect from train station if not).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good WiFi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of space

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a dog, a rabbit and chickens. Pets welcome, as long as they are friendly :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 647735619732

Feedback (3)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with painting garden furniture in Vienne, France
Join our artists's community and help with home restorations and childcare surrounded by amazing nature in Mouzieys Panens, France