Come explore beautiful Australia helping a family run free range egg farm !

Country

Australia

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1554

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    First, allow us to introduce ourselves! Justin is a Portland, Victoria native, who grew up on a local farm raising beef and sheep, milking dairy cows, and growing spuds. Karin is a former ‘city girl’ from Chicago in the U.S. who has happily converted to country life here in Australia and works locally as a psychologist. We met while volunteering in Southern Africa in 2010 where Justin had started a not-for-profit farming initiative teaching disadvantaged youth how to farm and start their own small businesses and Karin ran a shelter for people rescued out of human trafficking. We got married in 2014 and bought a 45 acre farm in Heywood, VIC in early 2016.

    We are a small, family run pastured free range egg farm in beautiful southwest Victoria, Australia. We are looking for workers who are happy to help collect, clean and pack eggs and help out around the farm as their skill set allows! We would love to make your time in Australia diverse and enjoyable- our farm is just off of the great ocean road and we are 15-20 minutes from beaches, hiking trails, and the beautiful town of Portland. There are also wineries, zoos and other attractions nearby!

    While working with us, you will be provided with a newly renovated one bedroom fully self-contained and furnished unit on the property and be given vehicle access for day trips so that you can experience all that Victoria has to offer! We would also love to take you out and show you around some of the beaches, parks, and other attractions during your time off. We have a variety of animals on the property in addition to our chickens, such as alpacas, maremma dogs, and horses (if you would like riding lessons, we can work that into your time with us!).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to train and educate you about the agricultural industry here in Australia, while providing you with ample time and opportunity to build relationships and explore Australia! There is also a wonderful indigenous cultural center in town where you can learn more about Australia's history and cultural background.

  • Help

    Help

    There is no prerequisite training or experience needed, as the work is very basic and you will be trained during your first few days with us. However, any prior farm experience is a plus (i.e.: able to drive a tractor, repair fencing, feed livestock, etc). It is manual labor, so a very basic fitness level would be required (able to be on your feet for 3-4 hours at a time) but as far as farming goes it is very light work, as opposed to working with larger livestock.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a one bedroom fully self-contained unit on the property; it has a double bed and a single bed so it can sleep up to three if friends are traveling together. It is fully furnished and was completely renovated one year ago so it is tidy and clean. There is a full kitchen with a bar fridge in the unit; we are happy to provide meals for you in our home or you can self-cater if you want to have guests over for dinner on any given night. You would have as much support or independence as you prefer- we are happy to host you for meals and chats in our home, and you are welcome to make friends and go out and enjoy local life as you see fit!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located near the end of the Great Ocean road and only about 2 hours from the 12 Apostles, which is certainly worth the trip! We are in between two larger towns, so there is shopping and entertainment available about an hour in each direction, and we are just 20 minutes from scenic Portland, Victoria where there are markets, events, and a small movie theater. The town of Heywood is just minutes down the road and there are coffee shops, a pub, a grocery store, and several small shops. We are rural, but with all of the comforts and conveniences of home :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Making new friends at a nearby raspberry farm!
Beautiful Nun's Beach in Portland, 20 minutes from our farm.
Karin breaking in one of our young horses.
Golden hour on the farm.
Head chook farmer, Justin
Kitchen/Living room in the flat
The bedroom in the flat
Host ref number: 645227196572