Join our family on a remote island in the Great Barrier Reef, Australia

  • Favourited 357 times
  • Last activity: 14 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My partner and I with our baby live on a remote island in the Great Barrier Reef where we manage a marine research station. It is a beautiful and special place to live and work with reef surrounding you! The island is also a bird and turtle nesting site in the summer which is amazing to see. In the winter we have the whales migrating past our front door.
    We are looking for either 1 person or a couple to help us with looking after our child’s and day to day tasks like helping around the house. We will cover the cost of the ferry to the island, all meals and board. If a couple we expect both to help out. Our son is a toddler who is fun and loving, we want people only who have experience looking after toddlers. Even better if you have some surf life saving or experience with kids around water.

    We are also now in addition to a nanny also looking for someone to help with some general tasks around the station such as weeding, painting, cleaning, helping with the boats etc.

    You will have plenty of spare time to go snorkelling, kayaking, surfing, enjoy sunsets on the boat or just relax in a hammock with the best view!

    This is an amazing opportunity for any ocean lovers to experience living on a beautiful island in the Great Barrier Reef. Highly preferred someone with any proven medical, child minding or baby sitting experience.

    If your interested contact us we would love to meet you and chat via FaceTime. PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU INCLUDE THE EXPERIENCE YOU HAVE CHILD MINDING IN YOUR MESSAGE AND THE DATES YOU CAN COME, ONLY APPLY IF YOU CAN STAY FOR AT LEAST 4-6 WEEKS MINIMUM

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to experience island life which is SO amazing. Living on a remote island surrounded by coral reef and amazing marine creatures. Opportunity to snorkel some of the most beautiful reefs in Australia, learn to surf if you don't already know how. If you are interested in marine conservation and science you will also get the opportunity to meet scientists and learn about coral reef research.

  • Help

    Help

    We are asking for someone who can help with day to day chores around the place, including helping look after our son whilst we work. There will also be opportunities to help out on the boat and with other task around the research station.

    Highly desired is anyone with experience child minding babies, I big plus would be someone who is a nurse or has first aid skills.

    You must be ok with living in a remote place, the only full time occupants will be yourself and us. There are no shops just the marine research station and we order food once a fortnight.

    We are now also looking for one extra person to help with general tasks such as weeding, cleaning, painting etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Would love to learn any other language!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own bed room with a view of the ocean! We have a big kitchen which you will mainly have to your self but will some times need to share with visitors to the research station. There is internet you can use BUT NO MOBILE RECEPTION! it is a remote place we have no shops nearby and we order our food online and it comes once a fortnight.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have great internet and are happy for you to work if you can via the internet when living with us.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 6 days a week

Host ref number: 478121988185

Feedback (7)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Help with Gardening Slashing Handyman in North Isis, Australia
Volunteer renovating a house in Newcastle, NSW