1 / 3

Help us around our family home with various projects while experiencing true Canadian wonders in Black Creek

  • Canada
  • Favourited 19 times
  • Last activity: 18 Oct 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less



  • Description



    We are a family located in beautiful Black Creek British Colombia. We have 1.5 acres on a beautiful bird sanctuary called Orel lake, located at the end of dead end road. On our small acreage we have chickens, goats, dogs, a cat, bee hives, and baby girl! Our back yard is the 'pond' where you can see many different species of migratory waterfowl, geese, ducks, swans, there is also beavers, great blue herons, frogs, turtles, and many species of smaller birds, waxwings, robins, goldfinches and more! We are southern facing, having excellent sun and a fantastic view of the local ski mountain!

    We are looking to expand our cultural immersion with you!( the workaways), we are interested in being exposed to different culture, language, thoughts on parenting, religion, politics, art, food... and people! We believe this will be a great way for our family to broaden its horizons and have a wealth of experiences while living in our small town.

    I work as a plumber in the community and stay very busy, with the birth of our baby girl last year we have less time for chores!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Visit a true Canadian wonder, see beavers, Canadian geese, a wonderful view of the local ski mountain, mature cedar and fir trees and more right out the back door. Close to wonderful beaches, a local race car track with go-karts, a swimming hole at the glacial river where the salmon run in the fall 5 minutes away! This is farm country experience local agriculture and produce.

    Opportunity to work alongside a professional carpenter and plumber.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Could vary depending on the projects we have on the go! Animal care, yard work, house cleaning. There is always something to do on our list! I am a professional carpenter and plumber and will sometimes need assistance with these types of projects where you would work with me and learn about the trades.

    Raking, weeding, house cleaning, animal care, baby care, lawn and garden care, fruit harvesting, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    A full private house is provided for the workers, 2 bed, 1 bath, 900SF house fully furnished. Netflix. Pantry stocked with basics rice, beans, etc. and allowance provided for additional foods. Meat, cheese, fruit vegetables. Meals can be shared or separate depending on circumstances.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lots of beautiful walking trails, beaches, rivers, go karts, mini golf. This is a quiet place where we work hard and eat well, support each other and our community, we are a young family and there are others in the neighborhood. We enjoy walking the trails, going to the beaches, swimming in the river and working on our property. We support our local farmers, have camp fires in the evenings, and try to have a low impact on the environment,

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 644849486674



Help with the horses such in the beautiful luscious Fraser Valley of British Columbia, Canada
Italian girl speaker to join our family and help around the house in Québec, Canada