1 / 5

Family permaculture farm and home in Valença, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favourited 15 times
  • Last activity: 05/11/2022

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family (Portuguese & German couple with three kids (12, 5, and 2 years old) living on a small Farmland.
    The next town, 6km away from us, is called Valença do Minho. We are also only half an hour away from several beaches, which you could visit in your free time. In Valença there is a direct connection (by train or by bus) to Porto.
    We did the Permaculture Design for the land and we have our vegetable garden. We are building up the irrigation system (by gravity, drop by drop) this season. There is our dog, Lua, 12 chickens, and 2 ducks and we aim to have a couple of sheep.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you will have the chance to get to know the roots of Portugal, the Minho region is very traditional Portuguese. We are located 6 km's to the Spanish border, where you will be able to visit Tui very easily, and at the same time, we are very close to Caminha/Moledo beach. Here there are local markets every week where you can visit, and buy "everything"!
    At our home, you will be in touch with Portuguese culture and German culture.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who wants to give a hand on the farm/land - gardening, DIY, building fences, harvesting, tree pruning, trimming, everything around a farm.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have the option to set up our comfortable tent on one of our terraces or use a caravan as your accommodation. Depending on the time of the season, you will also have the option to stay in the main house. The toilet and the kitchen will be in our farmhouse.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have bicycles that you can use. Nearby, there is a small waterfall where you can go for a swim. There are nice viewpoints nearby. We are located right at the Camino de Santiago/Jacobs Weg, so you will have the chance to walk it, and to meet Pilgrims from all over the world.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fast speed internet connection 500MB.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We do have a lot os space to park your campervan or motorhome where you can plug to the electricity.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 643696355288

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Help with natural cob building, planting and gardening in Quinta da Vida Beleza, São Miguel Island, Azores, Portugal
Enjoy with our family near the beach in Guia, Portugal