Looking for someone friendly, happy and honest, a team player & nature lover to help us with yard work and small renovations, Blaeberry valley, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 177 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    196

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I immigrated from Switzerland 23 years ago and have since been running a small lodge with cabins and a small campground in the Blaeberry valley, 25km north of Golden on a 60 ha property with breathtaking views into the Rockies, river access and a natural swimming pond, right on the edge of wilderness. The deer population is abundant, so are the various bird species. You can hear the coyotes howling during moon lit nights, you might even see a bear.

    We love nature and the outdoors. We are blessed to live close to five world renowned National Parks: Banff, Yoho, Glacier, Mt. Revelstoke and Kootenay and numerous activity opportunities like mountain biking, river rafting, hiking, horseback riding and much more.

    We are looking for someone friendly, happy and honest, able and wanting to work in a team, loving nature and not mind being without the amenities of a big city for a while, eager to help us out with our tourist operation and yard and garden work. We expect our helpers to be respectful towards our guests and make sure that they always enjoy our place and want to come back! We would prefer someone that wanted to stay at least 4 weeks. And with so many attractions and outdoor adventures at our doorstep, we are a perfect place to spend some quality time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Meeting helpers from other countries and exchange experiences.
    Learning about organic gardening and how to make bread and pizza from scratch.
    Getting to know the amazing landscape of the Canadian Rockies.
    If interested, to learn about immigrant experience to Canada.

  • Help

    Help

    In May and June we need help with gardening, yard work, mowing grass, fire wood, tree care, small renovation projects and making everything ready for the summer season.
    July and August are our tourist high season months. During that time we need help with cleaning cabins, looking after the garden and preserving vegetables and fruit.

    If possible we always have a minimum of 2 helpers working together, and if they wish so, sharing their free time and excursions.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide a cabin for 2 with adjacent shared bathrooms and showers or a single room in our house with own bath.

    We share our home and provide 3 healthy, nutritious meals a day, 7 days a week, vegetarian or/and with meat, avoiding ingredients causing allergies or you really don't like if you let me know ahead.

    We love eating our meals together and talk and listen to the stories you have to tell.
    Smoking in the buildings is not permitted.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During the free time you can use one of our bikes to explore the area, swim in the pond, walk our many trails. In the evening you might want to sit at a campfire and admire the starry nights and the moon.

    If possible we will take you with us when we go shopping in Golden, our service centre, 20 minute's drive away, where you can find everything you need, including sport equipment stores, a fabulous bookstore and nice cafes/restaurants. In the evenings there is the opportunity to go to cultural events, the movie theater, or a pub.

    On your days off you might want to explore the area. If we have time we will take you on a hike, a fishing and/or canoe trip.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week










Host ref number: 641168861681