Building a straw bale house in beautiful Albany, Western Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 64 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Looking for people who would be interested in helping build our strawbale house. We are in Albany,WA. We live close to beautiful beaches and National Parks in Southwest WA. Your accommodation is in a funky renovated caravan with your own fire pit, bbq and outdoor sitting area. We are a family of 4 - Paul is doing all the building, Lisa is a teacher and we have 2 children aged 8 and 10. We also run a small sheep farm and are looking at improving our veggie garden so we have diverse opportunities available to suit your interests.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live close to beautiful beaches, including peaceful swimming spots and surf beaches. There are amazing walks to explore around the area. We would love to help you discover this beautiful part of Australia and would do everything possible to ensure you would have a great experience and holiday while learning how to build a straw bale house!

  • Help

    Help

    We do need a lot of help and can offer a variety of chores to suit your interests and abilities. We currently need help with jobs such as sanding and making frames for the windows. As well, we have a small sheep farm and veggie garden which we could use help too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have recently renovated a caravan complete with couch, fridge, kitchen items, and queen size bed. It is sitting between 2 beautiful flame trees and has a private outdoor sitting area and fire pit. You would be welcome to join our family for meals, or if you prefer, we would provide you with food and a quiet place to eat. We are very flexible and would work to make your stay enjoyable! There is a shared bathroom next to the building site for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local beaches are amazing and just a short drive away. We can help with transporting you to some beautiful places to explore the region. We would also consider lending a vehicle to someone who commits to staying for extended periods of time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 639335343344