Help with childminding on the Gold Coast, Coolangatta, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 249 times
  • Last activity: 1 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    Hey beautiful workawayers,

    We're Lars, Oskar and Swetlana. A young family that migrated from Germany to Australia a year ago.
    Our passion for surfing and deep connection to the ocean brought us back to this sacred land in Australia.

    Before Oskar was born, we traveled the world and also used workaway to experience culture through locals.
    Now as a family we're on the other side of the workaway experience and love to welcome a beautiful soul into our family.
    To us it is most important that you feel like you're part of our family, welcomed and loved. We want you to feel safe and have a voice. We value communication and self-responsibility. We know how important it is to feel comfortable in a new setting and environment. That's why we deeply care about your well-being and encourage you to communicate your needs. It simply helps everyone to be on the same page.

    After 3 years of staying home with our son, I'm getting back on the work plane and starting my own business.
    That's why we're looking for someone who likes spending time with children, as your main task will be taking care of our 4-year old son Oskar. Lars is working in IT 5 days per week and mostly from home.

    Our apartment is located very central and only a few steps away from the beach.
    You can easily get around without a car as public transportation (mainly bus) is in walking distance. 5min walk to the shops, cafes, restaurants and bus station. We also have a bicycle to borrow.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    - Friendly and open-minded community
    - surf, cacao ceremonies, ecstatic dances
    - experience the daily life with a child and what it means to be a parent
    - cooking new meals
    - German language as Oskar is raised bilingual
    - water activities like surfing, body boarding, kayaking or just beach strolls
    - hikes in ancient rainforests in the hinterland (1h drive)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We prefer a female workawayer!

    We mainly like to receive help looking after our 4-year old son Oskar.
    Preferably for outdoor activities e.g. taking him to the playground, building sand castles at the beach, playing in the park, he loves going for a ride with his scooter :)
    We'd also love to be supported with our normal household chores (washing, cleaning, grocery shopping, cooking, etc.).

    Thu & Fri will be your days off, as Oskar will be at kindy.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own bedroom in the same apartment. Bedroom includes: single bed, built-in wardrobe, desk, ceiling fan.
    All other areas (living room, kitchen, bathroom, balcony) are shared with us.

    We'll provide all essential drinks & food.
    I'll go to the local farmers markets once a week to get all our fruits & veggies and bread for the week. Produce is spray-free or organic.

    We eat mostly vegetarian, sometimes fish, rarely meat.
    We usually have
    - one warm meal / day
    - other meals include muesli/cereals and bread with different spreads (like butter/margarine, hommus, vegan/veg spread, jam) and cheese

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live at the southern end of the Gold Coast, which is well-known for its magnificent white beaches, crystal clear water and surf.
    The Gold Coast is surrounded by beautiful, very old rainforests which is a must-see if your in this area. We regularly go for hikes in the rainforest and are happy to take you to some places as you'll need a car to get there.
    As it's a warm, sunny and evergreen region, life's really taking place outside. In the ocean, at the beach, at the park.
    We love going to the beach and for a surf. We can also take you out in the water as we have a spare surfboard.

    Public areas usually have fitness- trails and installed gas barbecues that are free to use.
    Gold Coast has a lot to offer, from endless coastlines to big malls, adventure parks, water parks and wildlife parks (e.g. Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary, Coombabah Conservation Park) to see wild kangaroos, koalas and other animals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Lars is mainly working from home as well and also relies on a stable internet connection.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 586858595123

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Come and help on my organic farm just out of Adelaide, South Australia
Permaculture, aquaponics and renovations in the beautiful Kalang Valley, NSW Australia