Help required with a family in their straw bale eco house and land in rural Norfolk, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    One of the most interesting aspects of our project is the straw bale house that we live in and built along with our friends. We are very easy going and a sociable family who enjoy sharing our life and skills with others. The children have been brought up within the context of a Steiner education so we are a creative family who strive to be socially responsible.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a fully qualified mainstream primary teacher as well a qualified Steiner/Waldorf Kindergarden teacher. I have skills in teaching piano as well as various crafts, and my husband and I have just finished building our straw bale house. My husband in particular has various skills in building.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a family of five - my husband and I with our three children aged 8, 11 and 14. We live in a small village nine miles south of Norwich and need help with moving forward with various projects on our newly built straw bale house and acre of land. We are setting up our meadow for a few animals (pigs, goats and chickens) so require help with such tasks as fencing, sowing meadow seeds, planting hedging and the continuation of setting up of our vegetable garden. We are also need of some help with painting our straw house and a number of other finishing projects such as painting the lime render, completing the weather boarding on the gable end and building an outside patio area. We are currently home Steiner educating our three children so there may be some support at times required with child care or if offered some support with some language teaching.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As well as the Straw bale house we have built a wooden cabin in our meadow where the Workawayers would be accommodated so you would have your own privacy and peace away from the busy family life. The accomodation has cooking , washing and sleeping facilities as well as a wood burning stove and is very well insulated so very warm and cosy. We would of course welcome you into our house also for meals and socialising with our every day family life.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our village is on a regular bur route into Norwich, the main historic city in Norfolk. We are also not far from The Broads - a National Park with navigable lock-free waterways set in beautiful countryside. Norfolk is also known for its beautiful coastline. The cabin on the meadow also has 3/4 of our land around it separate from our family garden so there is plenty of private space in a pretty setting to be enjoyed. We mostly enjoy family life, working and socialising with the children as well as on occasions socialising with friends around the fire on Summer evenings. The children also enjoy a few clubs in and around the area so we would be happy to offer some transport if needed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 632842916557