Become a new member of our family and help with our kids in Lurgan, Nothern Ireland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 157 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    NOTE: Apologies to the workawayers I haven't responded to yet, there have been so many I can hardly keep up!


    We're a small family with two little boys (a 4 year old and a 1.5 year old) and myself.
    I'm looking for someone who would love a cultural exchange and to help look after my boys when I'm working if other childcare arrangements fall through and share meal preparation, light housework and whatever else you feel inspired to share with us.

    I'm a creative self employed single mum working as a graphic designer/illustrator/calligrapher and music teacher. We've had 9 beautiful work-awayers already and I'd love to welcome more beautiful souls into our very happy home.

    I'm a baby-wearing, breastfeeding, home-birthing, home-schooling, attachment-parenting, vegan, artist, entrepreneur, music-making mum.

    We live a five minute walk into a small country town called Lurgan which is 25 minutes from the bustling city of Belfast.

    This is a happy, creative, fresh, healthy home filled with music, food, friends, children and smiles!

    This is a quiet family home with no smoking, no alcohol and no partying. If you just want a place to stay or to see Belfast then book a hostel but If you want to connect with a family, be helpful and have some quiet time, long walks or to get creative then this is the place for you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you would like to gain experience and build references for looking after children this would be a good exchange for you.

    I love to learn and to have my mind opened to new and marvelous ideas. I read and question everything so I'm happy to chat about things both light and serious!

    I would love to show you our local area and can help you improve your English with conversation if you need that.

    I can teach you violin (classical or traditional Irish fiddle) and Irish songs if that's of interest to you.

    I can teach you about starting and developing a creative business and I can teach you how to draw or do calligraphy.

    In Summer our garden is lovely, we have a greenhouse and love to grow sun-gold tomatoes and GIANT sunflowers! If you want to plant things or just enjoy sprawling on the lawn you're very welcome.

    We eat a vegan diet (almost 80/10/10) and use plant-based versions of milk and cheese so most 'normal' recipes can be adapted fairly easily. We love cooking from scratch and we'd love to swap recipes with you!

  • Help

    Help

    Most of all I want to welcome beautiful people into our home and make lifelong
    connections. I want you to share who you are with us and for you to be interested to see what life is like in our family and our beautiful part of the world.

    I'm looking for people who are outgoing, confident, comfortable with themselves, positive, open minded, easy going and clear communicators.

    I work from home and would be here throughout the day as needed but I'd really like to have some child-free time to get working on some creative projects or to have you accompany us on outings. Baby Bo is pretty easy to look after and I have an easy routine for him. He is breastfed so you'd have to be comfortable with that, I'm fairly discreet but he's a chubby, greedy boy so he feeds lots!

    Flint, my four year old is bright as a button with a vivid imagination. He'll completely fall in love with you if you're willing to join him in his role playing games or take the time to do simple crafts with him. He's a perfect 4 year old and as long as you have the words 'Poo' and 'fart' in your vocabulary you'll get along very well! I want people who are willing to get silly and play with Flint. He loves to make little houses from cushions and sheets or to race in the back garden. He especially loves to do role playing games with his toy characters. He loves anyone who gives him the time and connection.

    As for the rest of the house I'd like you to 'muck in' as they say here! This means just throwing yourself into the general running of the household with an easy, fresh attitude of helpfulness. Things like keeping the house tidy throughout the day and doing light household things like clearing dishes and wiping benches if you notice it needs done. Sharing meal preparation would be required although I prepare lots in advance.

    If you're interested there could be creative projects like helping me prepare videography, marketing, social media, photography, illustration, blogging and website maintenance/development. If you really like you can join in as I run music programs for kids in the local community.

    I'd really love my boys to meet new people and learn different cultures. You don't have to be wild or wacky, just happy to be here!

    We're learning Irish and speak it as much as possible. We'd like you to learn some words and use it as much as possible too.

    In winter the garden pretty much goes to sleep but in the Summer there are things to do in the garden if you enjoy gardening. If you feel inclined you could plant things, stake tomato plants, mow the lawn, weed the paths, sweep the leaves, paint the shed, plant food crops etc... but only if you really like that kind of thing.

    I like to organise/host themed educational/social meet-ups usually revolving around music, food and play. If you'd like to share a skill or contribute in any way you'd be very welcome. You could teach a song or a poem, or your favourite food or a story or simply enjoy the company and good conversations.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a nice comfortable house and offer you your own room, unlimited wi-fi and Netflix.

    You will be sharing the family bathroom and the rest of the house with us. We have a second living area (With a piano but no tv) if you want to chill out on your own in the evenings.

    I provide main meals and love to share dinner time with you. I love to get to know our amazing guests, you are treasured and we consider you a friend before you've even arrived!

    Our house is a detached house with a nice enough garden on the outskirts of a small town. It's about a 6 minute walk to reach the first shops at the edge of town and another 5 minutes to walk into the town center.

    Our small housing estate is very calm and not a rough neighbourhood at all. Our neighbours are very friendly!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We love to walk and have picnics in nature so we know all the beautiful places to go to. You're very welcome to join us on our outings. There are lots of nearby towns nestled into the nooks and crannies of this beautiful land.

    Belfast is a 25 minute train ride away and is a brilliant hub of culture too. You can use our bikes to get to the train station (about a mile away) or I'll try to give you a lift whenever I can. I can recommend the best hostel in Belfast (Arnies Backpackers), I know the people who run it and you'd be warmly welcomed if you decided to book in with them.

    The Titanic was built here and there's a Titanic tourist attraction to go to if you like that sort of thing.

    There's a swimming pool, gym, library and college within walking distance. there are footpaths all the way into town so it's quite safe to walk. It's a small town with some cafes and shops, supermarket, library, fitness centre etc... There's a small castle and a large beatufiul park with a 59 acre lake.

    We live about 10 minutes drive from a huge lough called lough neagh. It's Irelands largest fresh water lake and has a visitors centre, small marina, play park for kids and some gentle forrest's to explore around the water. We go there lots.

    We get occasional snow in winter but it's not guaranteed. It can be a bit cold and rainy here in Ireland but after a long fresh ramble outdoors there's always somewhere cosy to go and people are SO friendly here!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 631843162287