Help us build a farm in the mountains of western North Carolina USA

Country

United States

Favourited 148 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/04/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    325

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 3 humans. We have 8 goats, 3 dogs, a fancy black cat and 8 chickens. I have two boys,age 13 & 18. We have sold our urban homestead in Asheville and have moved to the surrounding area in Beautiful Burnsville NC.It is an easy 45 minute drive to downtown Asheville. It does have its own town with brewery/pizza and coffee shop.We are 10 minutes to the grocery store.We have an older house to rehab.We would love help with all of it especially fences,barn,animal care, and other homesteading projects.
    We share a big meal together on our workdays. We often have light snacks the rest of the day while working but are willing to accommodate different eating habits and diets.We are healthy eaters.We rise early and hope you do too. Work is dependent on projects, skill set and work ethic. Good communication is essential.Negotiations are always welcome before commiting to a stay.
    We have practiced social distancing and quarantined amongst our small family.we would appreciate that from you as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy sharing different cultures and showing folks around our town.We are homesteading and have much to learn but much to share.We love to try different things and are open to new ways always:)

  • Help

    Help

    We are building fences for animals.Rehabbing a barn and a house.This spring we will start a large garden. There is plenty to do even for the inexperienced.Cleaning up,painting,caring for animals,Light building skills are a plus!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 30’ vintage travel trailer with its own bedroom,bathroom(shower) and kitchen including a pink stove!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This area has so much to offer besides the breweries! Amazing hikes, driving the Blue Ridge Parkway, great live music,art galleries and so many interesting people!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 631264545512