Beautiful area in Lake Como in a mountain village called Plesio, starting up a micro-farm. Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 143 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi , my name Simone and this is my story in brief . After finishing my horticulture and green design studies and make some experiences on organic farms and eco-projects both in the UK s and the Netherlands , i have recently settled down in a beautiful area on Lake Como in a mountain village called Plesio , where i am working for starting up an organic micro-farm on 2300 Sq m of land that will provide with eggs , veggies, micro-greens and herbs the nearby shops, farmers markets and restaurants . The land is on a gentle south facing slope with fantastic view on the lake , the Grignone and Legnone snowy peaks and the picturesque cities of Menaggio and Bellagio .
    I have been a traveler and a helper myself , living , working , volunteering and studying in different European countries , i can speak fluent Italian and English and have good communication levels in Spanish and Polish while i am only at a basic level with Romanian and German languages .

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Lake Como as many other Italian and European locations is immersed in history , art and culture with roman sites , medieval castles, and world war I trenches . Villa Carlotta (1745) with a beautiful botanical garden and an art museum is just few kilometres away from us . And the touristic city of Como contains numerous works of art, churches, gardens, museums, theatres, parks and palaces that you could visit .
    I often travel to Milan for contact improvisation jams , so if you have an interest in dance you are very welcome to join . Other than that , in the house there is a guitar and a cajon that you are very welcome to play if you have interest for music .

  • Help

    Help

    The two main jobs for which help is needed from this April are fencing the whole garden perimeter (200m) , as there are many wild animals living in the area , and digging and laying down a water pipe that will provide the garden with water for irrigation .
    Help is needed also within the house , and includes painting , log splitting for firewood and preparing the courtyard for welcoming chickens .
    The hours in which we work can vary as the project is at his very begin but it will be never more than 5h per day so that you can have time to enjoy yourself and the surroundings . Previous experience in a similar context is not necessarily needed , rather a positive attitude would be very much appreciated .

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation for the moment is within the house which you would share with me , it has a kitchen , a fast and well working internet connection , plus it has an efficient brand-new pellet stove to keep it warm in the mountain's cold nights . There are mattresses and sofa beds . I can provide for helpers organic food , lots of fresh veggies , potatoes , rice and pasta and occasionally on request organic meat .
    The sleeping place could be shared with other volunteers , if there are . However there are not doors dividing the house spaces , but just a curtain that divides the kitchen from the living room , which is also the sleeping place . The bathroom is on the same floor and it has a well functioning shower .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area in which we live is located on the west coast of lake Como , the view of the lake and mountains peaks from the village is rather beautiful and soul filling . There are plenty of hikes that can be done in the area for outdoor lovers , such as the Greenway del lago di Como , Grigne , Resegone , Grona and plenty more . The Swiss border and the Lake of Piano and Lugano are also just few kilometres away . The area is also well connected by public transport with the cities of Como and Milan .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 698919799244