Help me with DIY and gardening projects in Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi all, Sherwood is a 60 acre homestead in the heart of West Cork, Ireland. I raised my 4 kids here while farming organically and being pretty comprehensively self-sufficient. Now that the kids are all flown the nest, I am gradually developing a natural medicine treatment, training and retreat centre at Sherwood. There is always a gazillion practical jobs needing help, from gardening to woodland management and renovation work. Depending on the time of year, I have a self-contained studio-cottage available to host helpers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    West Cork is a culturally rich area with many town festivals and events on throughout year. It is a totally beautiful area full surprises with beaches, national parks, artisan foodie havens and a plethora of ancient celtic sites to visit.

  • Help

    Help

    I am always grateful for skilled help so in particular, I welcome those with experience and skills in construction, DIY, gardening, lumberjacking and chainsaw work.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self contained studio cottage with ensuite, kitchenette-cum-living-cum-dining room downstairs with a wood-burning stove and a mezzanine bedroom area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Having your own transport is essential for really making the most of the region as public transport is limited and expensive. Check out the Wild Atlantic Way for lots of ideas for so many beautiful places to visit and fun events.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 628435692477