Volunteer with land maintenance and restoration in Central Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 227 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Steve, english and 54 yrs old. I have bought a quinta/farm in the mountains of Central Portugal in a protected nature reserve close to the river Zezere. My father had a peach farm in Cyprus when I was younger so I have been waiting to do this project for a long time. I searched over France and Greece for the right land and Portugal really is nice. Every month the environment changes and it's quite exciting. I started in Jan 2007. I have no family of my own.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit through meeting my neighbours and friends and learning how the Portuguese tend their farms.

  • Help

    Help

    The land has olive trees (three groves) containing about 80 trees. Grapevines, fruit trees and Medronho which is a strawberry looking fruit that is left to ferment over three months when picked in Oct/Nov/Dec to make a pretty strong liqueur.The work: Making improvements/cleaning the houses. Grape picking September. Olive pickers needed November/December. Brush cutting in the forest. Pruning Medronho bushes. Burning. Planting more fruit trees. Stone patio around a water tank. If you are handy with wood or welding I would like to hear from you. I will be making an anaerobic septic tank system soon so will need some help for that too. I am quite flexible and look forward to meeting you.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The choices are: Motorhome that has two double beds. A double bed in an old house, or a double bed in my house. Or you can try camping and I have a tent if you need it. There are wild pigs here and they will give you a fright if you hear their snort but they will move away from any human activity.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I eat everything and would like to learn and eat vegetarian if you are vegetarian. The coach arrives in Oleiros which is about 17 kms away from my farm and I'm happy to pick you up in my truck. There is a washroom with toilet, sink and shower. Running water; hot and cold.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 HRS A DAY, Weekends off.

















Host ref number: 6249722744b8