We need help with animal care and the hay harvest in Salzburg province, Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 549 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a mountain farm at 1220m above sea level in the province of Salzburg. Großarl is located in the "valley of meadows".
    In summer you can go hiking as far as your feet will carry you and in the winter the ski resort is right on our doorstep.
    In our stables there are about 20 cattle, 10 sheep and 7 ostriches, in the house there are also a dog and a cat.
    We would appreciate to welcome a help from time to time at our farm.

    Wir sind ein Bergbauernhof auf 1220m Seehöhe im Land Salzburg. Großarl im Tal der Almen.
    Im Sommer kann man Wandern so weit die Füße tragen und im Winter haben wir das Skigebiet direkt vor der Haustür.
    In unserm Stall sind ca. 20 Rinder 10 Schafe 7 Strauße einen Hund und eine Katze gibt es auch.
    Wir würden uns freuen, ab und zu einen Helfer auf unserm Hof begrüßen zu dürfen.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    they can enjoy the countryside and mountains of the Salzburg country and benefit from the culturals offers of the city of Salzburg
    they can learn all about farming and working with animals

  • Help

    Help

    Mainly we need help in the stable in care of the animals and the hay harvest.
    In the forest at woodwork, garden and household.

    Hauptsächlich brauchen wir Hilfe im Stall bei betreuen der Tiere und bei der Heuernte.
    Im Wald bei Holzarbeiten , im Garten oder Haushalt.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room with toilet
    Shared bathroom with shower.

    Zimmer mit WC
    Gemeinsames Bad mit Dusche.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In summer, hiking is the focus. At around 400 km of marked trails of varying difficulty for hikers the right trail in the Großarltal. There are about 40 cultivated pastures, which is the highest density of mountain huts in the Salzburg region.

    Similarly, there are about 140 km of marked mountain bike trails, fishing, climbing and tennis. The leisure center Großarl to a swimming pool, a multipurpose court, mini-golf, a beach volleyball court, and Rucki Zucki's Gaudi-Alm - a huge adventure playground. Wellnessen and relax in the spa hotels are also available.

    In winter the ski resorts Grossarltal-Dorfgastein has has four gondolas, eight chairlifts and six drag lifts and 80 slopes. 80% of the slopes are technically have snow. For beginners, a ski course in the local ski school Lackner is recommended. For advanced and freestyle skiers and snowboarders there are also different courses.

    Cross-country skiing, ski touring, snowshoeing, ice skating, curling, tobogganing, ice climbing, winter hiking and wellness are other winter activities.

    What to pack for this trip :-
    1. Hiking gear - at least a hiking shoe
    2. Old clothes - for work in the farm

    Visa to Austria
    *️*️*️ I can't provide you any invitation letter for you to apply visa , please find your own way to get the Visa before contacting me.

    It would be easier for us if the volunteer could speak a little German

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Spring
Our house during autumn
Veronika and Michael the host

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.4)


















Host ref number: 624924117752