updated  

Help our family with tidying up and cleaning in Vienna, Austria

  • Favourited 729 times
  • Last activity: 14 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are Till and Katharina. We are a lively family of five people living in beautiful Vienna. Our home is still in Vienna but since it's not downtown our area has kind of the feeling of the countryside. Our kids are born 2010, 2012 and 2016 :). There are also Fio -our cat- and Coco our dog living with us. Our children used to live kindergarden- and school free, but they are not allowed to anymore, so they are all in school now which is a new and adventurous step in our life.

    We are self employed and mostly working at home when our kids are in school. When they come home we try to spend as much time as possible with them. Our oldest daughter is not able to go to school at the moment. So she's also home most of the time.

    Since we are five people, there a only few quite times, it's always a bit chaotic (update: it's always very chaotic, haha) , there is always something to do, the kids are arguing--so "normal" family life we would say ;-) What's more the neighbor kids are always hanging out here, which means it's really always kind of noisy!

    Most of the times we are cooking vegetarian (though recently the kids want (need?) a lot of meat so we have it more often now) and are trying to live a sustainable lifestyle, though we find it hard sometimes to really do it. We used to live much more sustainable than now. We are open minded and looking forward to meet people from all over the world.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I hope with us you can get an idea of living with children in an unusual way. Until now they've never been to kindergarten or school. We almost never used diapers, for a long time we slept in a socalled family bed (5 people in one bed) and still in a family bedroom and many uncommon things more ;-). Whats more we know a lot about Vienna - so we hope to help you to find your way here in lovely Vienna (though we will hardly have time to show you around). In any way we are looking forward to this cultural exchange!

    And Katharina is a "The Work- Coach" - so if you are interested to get a free coaching from Katharina, please just ask :-D she would be so so happy to guide you through your "work".

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for somebody who wants to spend some time with us and our kids and mainly helps us with the housework: Cooking, cleaning, shopping, hovering, doing the laundry, cleaning the kitchen or the windows, helping tidying up (I already mentioned it, our house is very chaotic!) things like that- we have 126m² and a lot of work to do, you will not get bored, hehe. It would be cool if you would help us with cooking and the dishes also on your off-days, but of course only if you're here :-).

    Daily tasks on your help days: Tidying up the kitchen, emptying and wahsing the trash bins, vacuuming the kitchen, putting the wet laundry on the dryer and putting the dry laundry in the cupboards, making the beds, watering the garden (in summer), tidying up with the kids if you played with them, things like that.

    Weekly tasks could be to clean the floor, the bathroom, the fridge...

    Also we need someone who can care for the children when we both are working. But this will not happen too often. Most of the times it's the housework you can help us with.

    For us it's very important to have a detailed schedule with our workawayers so that it's clear for everybody when we set the working times. The reason is: if we don't have a schedule we would ask you all day long if you could help us with this or that- lol. No seriously, there is ALWAYS work that's why it's good to work five hours in the morning for example and than everyone knows it's your freetime now and if the kids want to play with you, you don't have to feel like you have to play with them. You can, if you want, but if you don't want to, everyone will accept it because it's your freetime.

    But still, we are a very flexible family and it's so important for us that you feel comfortable here. If you prefer to work 10 hours one day and have another day off, this is also possible. We will fix everything with you once you are here :-D.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Of course we love to teach you some German by using it as often as you wish! But we could also switch to English if you feel more comfortable with that. We are always interested in improving our English but the best part of talking English with our workawayers is that our kids can learn the language! Katharina is learning Spanish now and is looking forward to meet Spanish speaking people :)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can sleep in our home office (if we are working we start working in this room at 8am), which we changed into a half office-half guestroom, in our 126m² apartment with garden and balkony. It is located in a silent area in the outskirts of Vienna (still in Vienna!) with a lot of nature around. At the same time you are pretty fast in downtown, using public tranpsortation (aprox. 40 minutes). We don't need the room everyday but since the kids go to school now and we have more time for working we usually use it in the mornings. Sometimes also in the afternoons and evenings- we will tell you in advance when and how often we have to use the room.

    You can use one of our bikes. Of course we share everything in our apartment with you. You can also use our W-LAN. We would love to share our meals with you. Please notice that we are eating vegetarian most of the time (not always though).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time there are millions things to do in Vienna. You can go biking, swimming in a lake nearby, hiking in our area.

    In Vienna you can just do everything, there are so many sights, nice places, parks, coffee houses, restaurants, museums, bars and there are so many offers for every liking.

    Things our previous workawayers liked to do: Krapfenwaldbad, Schloss Schönbrunn, Heurige, Vienna Film Festival at Rathausplatz, Prater, Neusiedlersee, getting lost in downtown, Marchfeldkanal, Bisamberg, Opera, Musical, Biking, Icescating at Rathausplatz, Christkindlmarkt, Kahlenberg, Naschmarkt, Haus der Musik, Events for free (), Open Air Cinema, Donauinselfest, and many more.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    If your're working as a digital nomad you'll find a good internet connection at our home. Since we're working in our homeoffice we would love to share our office with you!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    It really depends on your pet if we can host you with a pet ;-). We have two cats and a dog- so just ask as and we'll try to find a way!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 723138925199

Feedback (33)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)














































Help with DIY project in Zellberg, Austria
Help with DIY and gardening in Strass im Attergau, Austria