Helping hands for a busy family on Vancouver Island, Canada

  • Favourited 59 times
  • Last activity: 11 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 6 living on a small acreage in the Cowichan Valley getting ready to enjoy the summer months ahead eating from our garden, swimming in our pool and rivers and ocean nearby and hiking as we work and build our little heaven on earth.
    Our children’s ages range from 14 to 7 and we are looking for multiple people to help out with facilitating everyday life with us and create some projects we have in mind. Many hands make light work.
    We love to spend our free time dirt biking, quading, side by siding, boating or on our jetskis and many other fun out door activities!
    The fullness of our plate requires some additional help and good energy so we have more time to explore, play and enjoy life. Ideally looking for someone long term.

    Ask us for our links:
    Check out our website
    Check out our Instagram

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in paradise surrounded by nature, a fully edible property we are creating trails for walking and biking, have four amazing and fun kids, and so much to explore in the countryside and city. We will be beginning a season of harvest and preservation of food, planning and building more spaces in and around the property. We can also help you with your English! Please let us know what’s important to your experience while you are here! You can literally be at the ocean, river and lake all in the same afternoon:)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    This is our second summer living on our property and we are looking for a team of people to help focus on transforming, establishing and maintaining many areas of our property. Everything to do with house hold upkeep, meal prep, landscaping, light construction, watering, harvesting and preserving from the gardens, canning and freezing, we have chickens and collect eggs daily.

    We are just a family with an acreage, not a business. We are looking for support in setting up our land, growing and harvesting food, etc basic farm stay activities. We do not function as a business.

    Right now we are looking for someone who has a passion for cooking and would like to create meals with our family .
    Approximately 6 of us and a few work aways. Must have a drivers license and be capable of meal planning, shopping and preparing in a timely manner.

    We are looking for a skilled builder to help build decks, treehouses and other building projects on our property.

    We are also looking for someone to teach us Spanish!

    If someone was good at painting murals we have a large space that could use a mural or 2 :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In our newly renovated barn separate from our house we have two fully equipped suites. One two bedroom and one single room. Each with a kitchen, bathroom, dining and living/tv room and shared laundry. We also have a 3000sqft rec-room attached that host six sets of bunkbeds. The bunk beds would be co-ed, each with their own storage and black out curtains. The rec-room has a large tv lounging area, gym, pool table, shuffle board, stage full of instruments, arcades, aerial silks, and a massive 20 person dining table.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our location is unique and really captivates the feeling of living on a more rural island and still being closely connected to larger cities to the north and south of us. Duncan is full of beautiful beaches on the rivers, lakes and oceans all within a 10 minute drive and you will have a spare vehicle for your use if you have a drivers license. We have lots of fun summer markets, festivals, and activities to experience. We have dirt bikes, quads, side by side, surf boat, jeep, and jet skis. We love to spend our free time enjoying the outdoors on our toys as much as we can and would love to share that experience with you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have amazing high speed wifi in the suites separate from our families wifi at our house.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There's lots of space for your own accommodations, we have hookups for septic, water and power and access to laundry.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Farm friendly pets are welcome, our biggest priority is no conflict with our neighbours horses.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 623372563418

Feedback (5)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Be part of our family in Sherbrooke, Canada
Prince Edward Island quiet and peaceful living on the Ocean, Canada