Idyllic cottage renovation in Vattuvalla, Sweden

Country

Sweden

updated  

Favourited 156 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 20 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    For the summer of 2022 we have one last spot open. We are looking for one more guest to join from mid to end of July.

    It’s an old Swedish school from the 19th century, full of charm and history. I am renovating it in its original style staying with traditional building methods. It is located on a peninsula in the middle of Sweden with endless forests in it; four hours north of Stockholm.

    This is my fourth year on workaway and enjoying it. In the summer of 2022 I plan to start painting the outer wall and replace some panels. It will be a traditional painting process. In addition, we have to keep the yard tidy and care for the fruit trees and the lilac hedge. In the last three summers, I had hosted eight guests and we had a blast of a time. Looking to have a similar experience this summer as well.

    I live and work in Stockholm, this is my getaway place. Love for baking, restoration, photography, bird watching and interior decoration.

    Prefer the guests to be non-smokers. I love the quietness in the nature and would encourage the guests to do the same.

    I am looking for guests with positive attitude to problem solving, as things could go off plan as we renovate and we might have to think on our foot. Any prior experience in carpentry would be a welcome plus.

    Help in the project would not be easy, be sure you are up for an approximately 5 hours of outdoor help a day.

    To beat the heat we would start early, around 07:00 and plan easy afternoons.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would enjoy the Swedish summer dream. Working on the cabin, swimming in the lake after a sauna, taking the boat for a ride, fishing and just relaxing at the nature.

    The house is far from all urban commotions and gives us a chance to disconnect from work life stress.

    I will gladly show you the surroundings. Tell you all about the Swedish culture and you will have the chance to eat typical Swedish food.

  • Help

    Help

    The house is being renovated. In the summer of 2022 I plan to start painting the outer walls, facade using traditional red paint. Set up a scaffolding, brush off the old paint and apply generous layers of the new red paint.

    In addition, we have to keep the yard tidy and care for the fruit trees and the lilac hedge.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a spare room with a comfortable double bed and one more spare room in the attic with two single beds. Please do note that while the rooms have doors the house is built in a way where you have to walk through rooms to get to the other rooms.

    You would share the shower and toilet with the hosts.

    We would cook our meals together either on the wood fired oven or out in the BBQ.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Host for the fourth year.
    I will pick you up and drop you off at the nearest train station (Ljusdal) or you could arrive with your own car/van.

    There are opportunities for bathing in the lake, and hiking around the woods. Spotting elks, foxes, birds and hearing stories about brown bears.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 619994293569