Stay in our castle and help in the garden and with some childcare in Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 188 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/06/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a tiny social enterprise based on an organic farm and castle in rural Perthshire. By 'we' I mean Rachel and Malcolm with our 5 year old son and two cats.

    Our place is within 1300 acres of quiet countryside managed for ecological diversity and organic sheep farming, has great walking and yet is under 3 miles from the small town of Alyth where there are shops, pubs and cafes, plus direct buses to Dundee and Perth.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We teach outdoor and survival skills within an ecological oasis, on the edge of the Highlands of Scotland yet within easy reach of castles, cities and rich history. Our work includes helping tourists and visitors, including guided walks and travel advice such as hidden gems and magical places off the beaten track. We'd love to share this with you!

  • Help

    Help

    We have a small vegetable garden which needs caring for and we need help cleaning, tidying and general maintenance. We also hope the right person could offer child care so we can get an evening off.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Fancy staying in a 4 poster bed in a castle? Your own room, with private bathroom, shared kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is ideal for getting close to nature, walking, relaxing or mountain biking. Public transport is under 3 miles away with excellent connections to Dundee and Perth, Glamis Castle or into the Highlands. The area is also excellent for cycling and hitchhiking, so makes a great base for trips off to explore Scotland.

    We try to minimise our impact on the environment and to respect all life, which includes being quiet and "leaving it better than you find it".

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 hours per day, some days free

Last winter, snow in his glove, Gilly wasn't best pleased. Our flat is on the top floor behind the tree branches.
Rachel and Gilly in our living room.
Our stove :)
Gilly is 5 years old and is climbing one of the many trees where we live.
Rachel celebrated her last birthday on a high wire course in a forest. This is her afterwards.
Alyth Burn, 3 miles from where we live. Alyth is the near town with buses to Dundee and Perth, shops, pubs and lovely walks.

Host ref number: 618778338969