Help us with some home improvements in Aljezur, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 209 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    To take care of our aging parents we moved to S-Western Portugal's beautiful coastal region, that is highly praised by surfers and hikers alike. The temperate climate stretches from March through November.
    Our family counts 6 adults and 3 children, ages 10 12 and 14, living in a range of 600m from one another.
    We home school our 17 years old foster kid.
    We have all spent years living on different continents: Africa, S-America and Europe for the last 15 years.
    Throughout the years we have enjoyed receiving friends and relatives from many parts of the world, and we still do.
    We actually are searching for a rural property. Meanwhile, we are trying our best for this endevour to become true, hopefully, sometime in the near future.

    NB: We have received plenty of applications during the last year, unfortunately, more than half of them turned out very disappointing "NO SHOWS", but we did not signal them - should you thus write to us, we kindly ask you to keep us updated if your planning changes.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a multicultural family, fluent in several languages and you could thus improve your command of any of these. We have a natural and life sciences background. In our family four generations regularly come together. Our present circumstances keeping us from travelling, not to get cut off, we thought inviting "YOU" to join us, would be a reasonable compromise ;-) in a venture of exchange, mutual upbuilding and respect. Meeting others from around the world is truly a way to learn and to grow.
    Locally, a rich fauna and flora invites the curious observer and archaeological and historical sites can also be visited.
    Our family owns a horse bussiness and would take you out for natural "Sight Seeing".

  • Help

    Help

    The move required changes to our home so a skilled carpenter would be very helpfull to accommodate our belongings in a rational and practical way.
    Maintain a 4 to 6 meter high hedge.
    Plumbing and electric jobs are issues as well.
    Our new terrace and some rooms need painting.
    Our parents needs have evolved recently and require more of our attention and care, leaving us less time for chores and house-keeping, like laundry (washing and ironing), cleaning, kitchen, ect.
    We further set up two 20' containers, which eventually would serve as our workshop and further stowage room. All in all, there is always something to do, in and around the house, but nothing really heavy duty.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Português, français, english, español, deutsch,

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A subdivision in our house, or a small fully equipped house, just 5 min. walking distance away from us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Hiking, surfing, horse riding, bird watching, marine life watching, fishing. Excursions to different cities, and sites, Monchique, Cap S. Vincent, Sagres, Lagos, ... , - we are half way between Lisbon and Seville. Our neighborhood is calm, we are less than a mile from the cliffs. As for the region, it is a wintering station for migrating birds, or permanent "residence" for others, that to say. there's no way to practice ski, although during certain nights and under the starry sky, it may be frosty. As soon as the sun rises, it's 12-16ºC. The range of possibilities is quite large. The smooth hills close by allow a majestic view over the southern and western coastline. Temperate climate. Hiking, surfing, horseback riding are just some of the many options available.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week















Host ref number: 618392434448