Herbert & Oliva

From: Mexico

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ecuador, Mexico, Portugal, Spain, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/09/2016 - 26/11/2016

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    RESUMEN WORKAWAYER
    We are a retired couple, Oliva (58) and Herbert (69). My wife is Mexican and I am German. Both physically fit.
    We live in Mexico in the northern mountain range of Veracruz (Huasteca alta).
    Oliva has a small business in our town, selling gifts and cosmetics, which is attended by two employees when we are travelling. She was born as a sales person! This is something she likes. Oliva has also very good organizational skills. She studied international relations to a university degree.
    Oliva doesn’t speak much English, but understands quite more than she speaks. Of course she is fluent in Spanish.
    She is a very contact friendly person and likes to treat with people.
    Herbert is a chemist and entrepreneur. Before he opened his own company in the cosmetic sector, he has been working in pharmaceutical research in Germany, than in an international Cosmetic company, for which he worked in different countries, after setting up his own one in Mexico.
    More than 40 years as a hobby carpenter allows him to do quite fair woodworking. Most of the furniture in our house has been done by him.
    Additionally he does also all maintenance work in our big house. So light plumbing, electricity, painting and construction forms also part of his skills.
    Of course, both are very acquainted with computer work.
    Herbert is fluent in German, Spanish and English.
    His hobbies are: Travelling, reading, carpentry, chess, diving (for more than 40 years), cooking and some more.
    Both of us are retired from a very active business life.
    We have 5 dogs in a quite big home and are both fair cooks. Oliva of course for Mexican cuisine, whilst Herbert is more into German and international cooking.
    Herbert does occasionally consultant work in companies.
    We love to travel (and have done it extensively), but not the tourist way. So we think interacting with local people gives us a chance to learn more about the culture and way of life in the different countries we visit, in exchange for the work we are able to perform.
    Both of us do not smoke, but have nothing against people who do so.
    If you have specific needs, please let us know and we will give you an honest answer, if we are able to perform or not.
    Within Mexico, we normally travel with our car. So a place to park it (preferable shadowed in hot climate) would be a plus.
    We have health and accident insurance.
    We also host frequently workawayers. You can find our profile as hosts in:
    http://www.workaway.info/167761414561-en.html

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Please read our profile. Or ask for specific tasks you would like to perform us.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Age

    70 & 60

  • Nationality

    German / Mexican

  • What else ...

    We have international health insurance, driver licence, love pets and are easy going in multicultural environments.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback