Help with house and garden needed by warm relaxed family in the beautiful Devon village of Branscombe, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 126 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  • Description


    Hi I'm Lizzie, Me and my 2 daughters 15 and 10 years...not forgetting our mad but very independent cats) have moved back to my childhood home in the beautiful village of Branscombe in South East Devon. We have a big old house in need of renovating and a lovely but very wild garden to breathe life back into and need all the help we can get!

    We have had wonderful experiences with all our workawayers so far, so are happy to repeat the experience.

    You will receive a warm welcome from this little corner of the world and we have a nice room (or a good sized tent in the summer) available for your accommodation. Bathroom facilities also available. Branscombe is one of the prettiest villages in Devon (and the longest in the UK so they say). You will have the Jurassic coast at your disposal. We have a superb little beach cafe (7 mins walk from our house), wonderful tearoom bakery (2mins away)and 2 very fine pubs around the corner. Our closest small towns are Seaton (10 minute drive), Sidmouth (15minute drive) and Lyme Regis (25 minute drive). The closest train station is Axminster which is 20-25mins drive away. We also have Exeter 45 minutes drive away which has all the shops, cafes, bars, cinemas you could wish for.

    We are a rural village so it would best suit a hardworking, independent couple and your own car is absolutely necessary. We would like to go ahead and make the bookings for the year now if possible, as we have so much to do!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will receive a warm relaxed family welcome from us and this beautiful part of the world. It is a delightful little village to be a part of and you will benefit from the beauty of the surrounding area, wonderful cliff top walks, incredible beaches, the breathtaking Jurassic coastline, fantastic British pubs and the chance to practice your English.

  • Help


    This would suit an independent couple who are kind, lovely with children, strong, able, self sufficient and willing to muck in and help with all sorts of jobs. Most of the help we will need will be painting, sanding, gardening,weeding, stacking logs, clearing, cooking, cleaning, and general maintenance. We will need enough English to be able to communicate.

    We would like your help from sunday-Thursday (so your days off would be Friday and Saturday - this may need to be flexible but you will get 2 days off a week). We will need you to be able to do tasks inside and outside during the day and be on hand to help cook the evening meal. Other than that you will be free to spend your free time exploring our wonderful local area. We can tell you all about the best places to go and visit to get a really good feel of this part of the world.

    Please note that you will need your own car as our bus system is almost non existent and taxis are expensive. You can borrow a bicycle but the valley is incredibly steep!

    Please make sure you bring warm clothes and boots for walking and suitable clothes as it can be messy work and muddy in the fields. Please also bring old clothes that you don't mind getting dirty!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own room. Bathroom facilities will also be available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off there are so many wonderful things for you to see and do here. There are wonderful walks, access to some of the best beaches and pubs. Glorious rolling countryside, incredible wildlife, delightful people in a relaxed, safe and warm environment. You will need to be very completely self sufficient as we are a very busy little family who rarely sit still. We are 10mins drive or a 3 mile walk over the cliffs to the very pretty village of Beer where you can go fishing. We are 10 mins drive from Seaton home to the new Jurassic Centre and Seaton Wetlands which is wonderful for bird spotting and walking. Lyme Regis is 25 mins drive and a wonderful place to visit. A visit to Charmouth for fossil hunting is a also a fun thing to do.

    Your own car will be absolutely necessary as the village is rural! Buses are rare and cannot be relied upon. Otherwise you may need to use taxis if you want to get out and about and these are expensive. A short 20 mins drive in one direction is Lyme Regis and in the other direction is Sidmouth with boutique shops, a cinema and antique shops. Exeter is a 45 minute drive and is a great, cultural and beautiful City with lots to offer. We are 25 mins from Axminster Station which is the closest station to us.

    We are so lucky to be living in such a beautiful part of the world - and we hope you love it as much as we do! We look forward to hearing from you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 617181998239