new host  

Help British couple create their dream permaculture garden in Zalaszanto, Hungary

  • Favourited 7 times
  • Last activity: 28 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are are Roy and Karen, a British couple who live in Zalaszanto, a tranquil rural village. We are a short drive from the beautiful Lake Balaton. We moved to Hungary 4 years ago and have been renovating our house since then. Renovation works on the house are almost complete, and we can now devote more time to garden projects in order to progress our dream of creating a permaculture garden/food forest. Our property is in a superb location for accessing a range of attractions and outdoor activities. It is beside the Balaton National Park, with access to woodland hiking trails literally at the end of the street. It is 18 minutes by car to Lake Balaton, and is 15 minutes to the largest Thermal Spa in Europe at Heviz. Peace and tranquillity can be found at the largest Buddhist Peace Stupa in Europe which is located in the village and is within walking distance. Various markets are located in nearby towns. The village amenities include 2 restaurants, one bar, two local shops, chemist, post office and doctors surgery, all within a few minutes walk. Buses run regularly from the village to Keszthely, Sumeg and beyond.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about permaculture principles and methods, building in natural cob (clay, straw and sand) building methods, vegan cooking, food preservation, you will improve your English if English is not your first language,

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are creating a permaculture garden and would like help with projects in the garden, This could be building raised beds, plant climbing structures, help building a greenhouse/polytunnel, completing a natural cob duck house, creating hugel beds, help with creating a water collection /storage system. Next spring we will need help preparing shitake mushroom logs. Then the usual gardening work such as potting, planting, strimming, weeding etc. We have almost completed renovation of our house, but there are still minor things to finish off such as painting and final coat of cob walls. You will also be expected to help, alongside us, with preparation of meals, and help with household chores.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are Native English speakers, and speak Spanish. We are trying to learn Hungarian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in a large bedroom with double bed (or the double bed and a single bed in the same room) and ensuite private bathroom with shower. The accommodation is in a separate part of the house to ours, with the kitchen area in between, so is quite private. We are a vegan couple and so eat wholefood plant based meals, using as much fresh produce from the garden. You can grab your own breakfast, but we usually sit down together to eat lunch and dinner. We eat a large variety of different meals, and make our own fresh sourdough bread. As you help with meal preparation, you will learn to cook a huge variety of wholefood plant based meals and you can learn to bake sourdough bread if you want to. We expect our workaway guests to only eat a plant based diet in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can hike in the Balaton National Park which is literally on our doorstep. You can hike to the three ruined castles that are accessible from the house. We may have a spare car available for you to use but depends if it still running when you come. There is a bus stop at the end of the street that can take you to various destinations such as Keszthely which is a beautiful tourist town on the edge of lake Balaton, and which has concerts and other attractions in the summer months. A bus route from the top of the street also goes as far as Gyor, a beautiful city in the north of Hungary. We live a quiet life, but also like to socialise with friends. Roy only works in the house and garden. Karen works 2 days per week remotely and the rest of her time in the house and garden. We work hard, and expect our workaway guests to also work hard on our projects, but we (and you) can also spend time travelling and visiting the area and "smelling the roses" and so we can all have a good work/life balance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Can be a VW size camper

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs welcome

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 614755269157

Photos

Feedback

Join for an enriching experience in a rustic village in picturesque southwestern Ohid, Hungary
Embrace a more sustainable life and stay off-grid at my cottage in Kigyos, Hungary