Painting fences and doors and help around our home on the Sila Plateau, Calabria, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 87 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1812

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everybody.

    Now that it seems that the problems related to Covid are being solved, we can think about next summer. To be precise: from July 28 to August 12.

    My name is Raffaele, I am 65 years old (although I look younger). I love to cook, write short novels, read, take pictures. I live in Livorno, but every summer, from July 28 to August 12 (more or less), I escape the great heat, global warming and climate change, and take refuge in a house on the Sila plateau, in Calabria, Villaggio Spineto, 1450 meters above sea level. Beech and pine forests, streams, lakes, mushrooms in case of rain.
    Next summer Alessandra, my girlfriend, will be in the United States, and my sons Sergio and Alberto will be one in Greece with his friends, the other at home, every day on the beach with friends.

    The house on the Sila plateau is made of stone and wood. The wooden parts (windows, doors, fences, etc.) must be protected from the winter cold and rain by coating them with a specific impregnating paint. This is the job I ask of a collaborator: protection of the wooden parts of the house, some small work around the house and a little help to clean the house. A simple job, an almost meditative experience - or boring, depending on your point of view -, which requires 2 or 3 hours a day, 5 days a week, not more.

    What can you do in your spare time? This could be a problem, especially for the first week.
    Reading, cooking (I am an excellent cook and I can teach many recipes), listening to music, riding a bike, playing guitar, writing (if you want to write your life’s novel – there is an old Mac at your disposal), practicing yoga (if you practice it), running, walking. And then again: going to the nearby village to shop, picking up mushrooms and raspberries and wild strawberries (if the climate changes allow it: it’s a couple of years without a single strawberry!) and preparing jams and liqueurs, sunbathing in the garden, watching movies, making art, watching the shooting stars at night. And again: take walks, visit neighboring countries, go to some good restaurant (a few km from our house there is a pizzeria that won a world championship for pizza makers), cook, and so on.
    Only from August 8th the life of our village and of the villages around us seems to wake up: lots of people in the village, festivals in the neighborhood, concerts, exhibitions. But in the very first days of August we could be the only ones in the village (but not on Saturdays and Sundays) – that's the risk. It's around the beginning of August that the village gets filled with people. So the doors of the houses are always open, and we share activities and meals with our neighbors.

    So: a relaxing life, without big commitments nor unbridled fun.
    I usually cook vegetarian (but not only) dishes: around the house there are cultivated fields and we use the vegetables harvested directly by the farmers.
    If this may interest you, well, let's start talking about it.

    Ciao!


    P.S. - I am no longer new to Workaway as I had several excellent experiences in the last 10 years, and there is no problem if references are needed, in addition to those already on my profile.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The workawayer can have a direct and deep knowledge of a good Italian, can learn Italian cooking, can have a lot of free time.

  • Help

    Help

    Painting fences and doors and shutters. Little help in the house.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A single room with a private bathroom

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am a good unprofessional cook, an unprofessional writer, an unprofessional photographer, and work in real estate.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2/3 hours a day / 5 days

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 614256446825