Looking for help on my veg & fruit garden on the beautiful land in La Palma, Canarias

  • Spain
  • Favourited 35 times
  • Last activity: 14 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hi there,

    I moved to the lovely island of La Palma about a year ago from Berlin, because I now have a little daughter here.

    As the volcano was breaking out on La Palma westside around the time, it did not seem to be good timing back then to move here, but luckily I managed to find a beautiful house on the 'safer' eastside of the island. This side it is easier to grow plants, because there is more rain and it does not get as dry in summer.

    The property has 3000m², 4 buildings and is terraced with many fruit trees: Avocado, Mango, Apple, Figs, Guava, Plums and many more... as well as some veg beets that need attention. A large part is removal of plants as things are growing fast here.

    What I can offer is food and accommodation and hopefully friendship if we manage to get along.

    Do not hesitate to ask anything but please give me some time to answer.


  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As I have only moved to this beautiful island about a year ago, I am learning many things about the plants here from friends that have been here longer. Depending on the time of the year, the tasks change a bit. In spring, there is a lot of clearing and planting in autumn a lot of harvesting. All in all a lot to do and a lot to learn.

  • Help


    What I am looking for are honest and decent people that are willing to assist me with the many daily tasks around the property. Times may very but about 4-5 hrs daily.

    - maintaining the garden
    - planting and harvesting
    - clearing an area for re/planting
    - painting some walls
    - woodwork
    - cleaning and fixing an old roof
    - fixing some stone walls

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Your room is comfortable has a double bed, its own kitchen and can be accessed seperately. .... ah, and ocean views :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The next supermarket is quite far away, however there is a busstation close by and it is fairly easy to hitchhike. There is plenty to see on this island, especially when you are into hiking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Unfortunately, I can only offer a very slow internet connection that only works in the higher grounds of the property. Sending and receiving Emails will work and Zoom calls as well

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There are three spaces that can work as campervan parks, however if the van is longer than 5 m it must be parked at the bottom of the hill

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    all pets are welcome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 464517486762


Help our family with care tasks in the Valencia area, Spain
Join our family in a cave home in Alcala del Jucar (La Mancha), Spain