From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Brazil, Canada, India, Indonesia, Israel, New Zealand, Russia, South Africa, United Kingdom, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2020 - 15/07/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    ATTENTION >>> I am currently looking for a 5 month internship in a food, agricultural or sustainability company for my bachelor study ''International Food and agricultural business''. I will be working for about 40 hours a week, of which I should spend half the time on a project or research of your choice. I look forward hearing from you!

    Hi there,
    My name is Ivar, I'm 22 years old and I'm traveling with Workaway for the past 4 years. In the South of the Netherlands I grew up on a farm. I learned a lot of skills on the farm but I still want to learn a lot more. Two years ago, I finished my study in Antwerp, Belgium. Where I studied to become a baker/pastry chef. Right now I am studying ''International Food And Agricultural Business'' at a university in the Netherlands. I've worked as a barista, waiter, farmer, gardener, baker and as a driver of a front loader. I'm open to new experiences and challenges to learn from! Travelling and meeting new people is something I love! :) Every summer, I hitchhike around Europe and in this way I get even more embraced to what (and who) the world has to offer. I'm open to learn new languages and I have a positive attitude, am open-minded and love philosophy. I like to work precisely and to try new things. But at the end of the day, is having a great time with the people around me what matters :) Feel free to send me a message anytime!!
    Cheers, Ivar

  • Type of help

    Help with Eco project

  • What skills do you have?

    farming, gardening, baking, cleaning, learning, sociable with children and adults and I am open to learn a lot more skills! See below more detailed information about my skills.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Dutch and the basics of French and German

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    *️️️️️️Farming: I grew up on a farm in the Netherlands and I've worked on a couple other farms as well. I have a tractor-driving license for the work on the bigger farms. But I would like to learn more about organic farming as well. For example: Sustainable farming, permaculture, growing organic food and making homemade products.
    *️️️️️️Gardening: I have worked as a gardener for two years and I like to make my hands dirty and the garden clean ;)
    *️️️️️️Baking: As a baker I like almost everything about food! I would like to learn how to make local products and local dishes. Next to baking, I like cooking as well and especially together with others :)
    *️️️️️️Cleaning: Not that I am in love with cleaning, but I really like to work organized. Cleaning up, so it's easier to work!
    *️️️️️️Learning: This is probably one of the best skills you can have. I like it a lot to learn from others! Even when something looks simple, you can still learn a lot from it. I also like to teach others. Like baking a bread can be very fun to learn :)
    *️️️️️️sociable with children and adults: I have worked on a camping as animator for children and I really like to do that! I work in a bakery shop and there I am sociable with adults too!
    *️When I first traveled via Workaway, I did not tick the box of construction work, but the last 4 summers I have been to the same host every year to work on a impressive building, which is almost finished.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements


Hay season in Switzerland :)
Hiking and hitchhiking in Scandinavia
Working on a dairy farm in Denmark, and of course giving the cat some attention
Checking the fields in Denmark
Cleaning the café on the day before it opens. I had the opportunity to set up a café in China.
Plastering an old wine cove in France
Photography is a hobby of mine
Cooking for important business meals in China
Being creative in my previous profession
Working on my family farm in the Netherlands
Harvesting on the field with some talkative company
Playing games and teaching children at the summer camp in China
A groups photo of one of the summer camps we organised. And by the way, I created a this simple t-shirt design for the summer camp :)
In my free time, I also like to find peace in nature, practise some yoga or doing some meditation
Beautiful, healthy food, grown in a good way makes me happy. Both as a farmer and as a cook :)