Stay in your own guest house and enjoy the western Algarve while helping us make an organic garden. Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/12/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Canadian and Portuguese couple, With two small children (ages 2 and 6 months) and two dogs living in a converted farmhouse about 15 minutes from Lagos Portugal. We have quite a lot of land and are looking for people to help us with building a raised garden to grow fruits and vegetables as well as help maintaining the 50 small trees we planted last year. We live near a multitude of beaches and our closest town is Barao de Sao Joao which is known for its fun hippy vibe.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can provide a place near two small towns in the algarve, one a haven for expats and travelers and the other a very tipical Algervian town. We are also living near a choice of many beaches. There are lots of things to do here, from hiking trails in our nearby forest, cycling, surfing etc. Travelers are well placed to explore and learn about the region. We are also happy to help people wanting to practice Portuguese as we have one native speaker and myself who is always needing extra practice.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help building raised garden beds to grow organic fruits and vegetables as well as help maintaining our small orchard of (very new) fruit and nut trees. this will include fertalizing\weeding and moving stones from the surrounding field to around the base of the trees which helps hold in moisture and discourages weeds.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a private guesthouse for you to stay in with 2 bedrooms, your own kitchen and bathroom, as well as use of our pool, and outdoor lounge spaces here. We would love to include you in our dinner times 3 nights a week, (we love to BBQ when its warm) and if you are comfortable cooking a meal here and there would be very grateful. On other nights we are happy to provide you with groceries etc to cook yourselves (and for breakfast/lunch)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 598478252583