Join and support our "art & accommodation" project! - Sao Teotonio, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 444 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/08/2019

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We’re two artists (36/43) and used to volunteer in Portugal on different farms, together with our almost 3 years old daughter (she is a hard worker too and has -of course- the cutest motivating smile).

    After some months of great experience in Portugal, falling in love with country and people we packed our things, quit our jobs and moved on a divine spot in Alentejo, just 4 km from the nice little city Sao Teotonio and 15 minutes to the breathtaking west coast with beautiful beaches at the atlantic sea.

    We want to create an unusual, inspiring place where people can spend their holidays in piece and delight with a right amount of speciality.

    We love flea markets, vintage furniture, any kind of art, little treasures and last but not least; to built and create things on our own. In general we try to avoid buying things new, we want to give new tasks to old ones cause they worth it!

    We need a wide range of help because there is always a lot to do!

    In the moment we have a lot work in the garden and we want to paint some buildings.
    Any artists around?

    We also have a well equiped workshop - for those who know how to deal with it.

    What we're looking for:

    People who want to help in exchange for a nice and cosy accommodation and good food.
    BUT the most important thing: you should LIKE to work (mostly outside) and to make your hands dirty!!
    Some knowledge of general maintenance is also helpful. We ask all our volunteers generally not to smoke in the house (and outside carefully) and not to drink alcohol during the work time.
    We're often spend good and fun time together, but we are not a party mile.

    What we would like to mention in advance:

    - We are no hippies.
    - We are not lazy and work hard for our targets.
    - We are not an ecological farm and not skilled in permaculture.
    - We have season from March till October and many guests on the plot.
    - We can not guarantee that you can always work with others.
    - We have varied tasks, sometimes exciting, sometimes maybe boring.
    - We do not know yet if there are other volunteers at the same time - but probably yes.
    - We cultivate friendly relations with our volunteers, but we're "normal" people - sometimes "out of tune".

    If this does not put you off and you may feel well prepared for - you are welcome!

    If you are interested PLEASE give us some information about you and your experiences (please not a copy and paste message and not just "read my profile" because we want to figure out why you want to join US).

    We are looking forward to meet YOU!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Think less, act more!

  • Help

    Help

    Main tasks are:

    - garden care / we`re also happy about good ideas! :)
    - ground mowing
    - painting buildings / artwork on buildings
    - help with carpentry work (knowledge provided)
    - help with masonry work (knowledge provided)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german, english, portuguese (um pouquinho)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have several accommodations for our helpers, depending on weather and if we have guests or not.
    Apart from the season you live in a comfortable guesthouse, during the season you will live in a tiny house or a caravan (both without electricity but this you will have for sure in bath and kitchen on the plot ;)

    We have a community house with big bath and kitchen -we share.
    The food is mainly vegetarian.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The plot is on the country side but in just a few minutes by car you can reach Sao Teotonio, Odemira or Zambujeira do Mar. The unbelievable atlantic coast with breathtaking beaches is only 15 minutes far away (by car).

    In Sao Teotonio is a bus directly to Lisbon (3,5 hours). In Sao Teotonio we can pick you up when you arrive.

    KEEP IN MIND: by feet it is about 30 minutes to Sao Teotonio and 90 minutes to the beach (approx.)!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Just chill ...
Outdoor-sleep (renewed) ...
One terrace
Outdoor-sleep ...
Tiny, tiny house ...
One of many hammocks
Chill Out Lounge
Detail ... with Henry Miller literature
We love typewriter
Hands on food
Pans and arms
Lucky charm










Host ref number: 598197764593