Help with natural construction, organic gardening and birding (birdwatch) at a hostel in Gachantivá, Colombia

Country

Colombia

Favourited 68 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1266

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Best regard! We are a nature lover family. We have two children aged 15 and 9 years. We love the quiet and green spaces in life, thas why we moved from the big city (Bogotá). Now we are living in Gachantivá - Boyacá, it is very near to Villa de Leyva (12 km) avery nice place to visit. We are journalists and in addition we became craftsmen /carpenters from The School of Arts and Crafts Santo Domingo. We are dedicated to the craft of wood and from this place we decide to built a hostel dedicated to people who love contemplation, field work (ecological orchard) and "creative break", so they can learn the craft of wood in our woodshop with basic exercises of traditional carpentry. We basically work with reclaimed wood (remnants). Our house is a typical country house (cottage) aged 1936. The hostel was built 20 years ago by a peasant family, so we made architectural modifications for visitors from all over the world. This place is away from the noise, traffic. Birds sing all day. You can breathe fresh air. It is a gift of life that want to share with people who love nature.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is a quiet place, surrounded by nature and ecological parks. There are attractions around. Here you can put into practice the knowledge of organic garden and learn to operate the tool for this purpose. On the other hand also they learn to do basic constructions outside with wood and green building.

    Es un lugar tranquilo, rodeado de naturaleza y parques ecológicos. Hay atractivos turísticos alrededor. Aquí podrán poner en práctica sus conocimientos de huerta orgánica y aprenderán a manejar la herramienta local para este fin.

  • Help

    Help

    Best regards! We have a project of agro-eco-tourism. We have assembled the rural hostel with up to nine people. We need help with the construction of exterior social areas: kiosk, place for hammocks, places for reading, gazebo. Additionally we need volunteers to make organic gardens. We have a basic woodworking shop where we could share knowledge.

    Cordial saludo! Tenemos un proyecto de agro-eco-turismo. Ya tenemos montado el hostal rural con capacidad para nueve personas. Necesitamos ayuda con la construcción de las áreas sociales exteriores: kiosko, lugar para hamacas, lugares para lectura, mirador. Necesitamos voluntarios con experiencia previa en huertas orgánicas/ecológicas, con GRAN capacidad de trabajo pues la exigencia física es constante.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Español English Français

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Camping.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the countryside 12 kilometers of Villa de Leyva. A place with a priceless architectural heritage. The house where we live is a rural house that we have recovered and put to use as a hostel. We live in an adobe house of 80 years old, beautiful. We are craftsmen carpenters and we want to make this place a beautiful gathering space, where there are areas of contemplation of nature, so we need the help for that purpose. The silence is wonderful, the birdsong is pleasant. You breathe clean air and water comes from a healthy stream.

    Vivimos en el campo a 12 kilómetros de Villa de Leyva. Un lugar con una riqueza arquitectónica invaluable. La casa donde vivimos es una casa campesina que hemos recuperado y puesto al servicio como hostal. Vivimos en una casa de adobe de 80 años de edad, preciosa. Somos artesanos carpinteros y queremos hacer de este lugar un hermoso espacio de recogimiento, en donde haya áreas de contemplación de la naturaleza, por eso requerimos la ayuda para tal fin. EL silencio es maravilloso, el canto de los pájaros es placentero. Se respira aire puro y el agua proviene de una quebrada saludable.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 596936427785