Help at an Organic Farm in the Slovenian countryside

Country

Slovenia

Favourited 349 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are a young family of 4 living on a quiet piece of land on the slovenian country side, aiming for self sufficiency and a peaceful life with and within nature.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    People will have the possibility to work with us and get to know the daily tasks and be involved in our current projects. We try to offer a good mix of different tasks, so your time here on our farm will hopefuly be fun and interesting.

    We are still learning new things every day so for sure we can share some experiences we've made so far and probably learn something from you too.

  • Help

    Help

    So what kind of farm life is happening here? It usually depends on the time of the year which projects we are working on and what kind of help is needed.

    Most of the time we have a few things going on at the same time to keep it interesting and fun for us and everybody who’s coming to stay with us. Spontaneous DIY side projects are quite common to happen as ideas never seem to run out.

    We’ve got two veggie gardens and many plants growing all over the place so some helping hands for general maintenance like weeding, mulching, watering, planting, harvesting etc. is always appreciated.

    Our two side buildings are still being renovated including work with concrete, mortar, wood and blaster, and one them will be our guest house which we most probably finish off some time this summer hopefuly. Also two storage ovens made of the old clay bricks, that our farm was build with are in the planning for this year.

    Renovating furniture, recycling and reusing things for different purposes in order to contribute less trash is something we like to do whenever some idea crosses our minds, or maybe yours?!

    CREATIVE HANDS and MINDS are always more than welcome to get involved somewhere and leave their personal mark around our farm.

    WE ARE LOOKING FOR people who like this way of living and the daily work that comes with it, who are maybe planning on doing something similar in the future, who love and respect nature and who have a sense for communal every day life. Living together with honest and open people who are positive and speak up their minds is something we appreciate.

    Also we'd be happy to welcome somebody who enjoys to look after our children for a few hours a day. If you happen to have experience in homeschooling, alternative teaching methods and/or can dance, sing, play music with toddlers, you are very welcome.

    Families are welcome to stay with us. We can offer accommodation but need to ask for a little contribution to our food supplies.

    How our days look like:

    We usually have breakfast in the morning and start working at 8 am (on hot summer days at 7 am) and work till noon/1pm.

    Lunch we will all have together around 2 pm. Afterwards everybody helps cleaning the dishes and kitchen.

    We also offer food for dinner but it will be prepared individually.

    Afternoons and weekends are free, so people have time to do other stuff like cruising down with the bicycles to the river or spend some golden hours in one of our hammocks.

    We don’t like smoking as well as people who wanna get wasted on our farm.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, some Spanish & French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For accommodation we can offer one of our two lovely camping trailers and also our little “Atelier” in the side building where a family or two people can stay. Close to the house is our compost toilet and a solar shower ready for any given moment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A healthy nutrition plays an important role in our daily life. We eat plant based organic whole foods but also enjoy our chickens eggs because they are as good as they can get. What we don’t produce we ONLY buy organic and NOT conventional for several reasons.

    Sourdough rye & spelt bread will be be baked every week and sometimes we fire up our cob oven for Pizza and anything else that needs to be baked or cooked.

    For us its very important to be mindful when it comes to using electricity and natural resources such as water for showering, doing the dishes and so on.

    ONLY organic and biodegradable soaps, shampoos, cosmetics, toothpaste, detergent and so on are being used as we are not connected to public waste water system plus these kind of chemicals should not being used anyway. Detergent we can offer for everybody but anything else people might need during their stay we kindly ask to please bring themselves.

    Internet access we limit to 1 hour max a day, as we don’t want our children to grow up in an internet cafe with a bunch of Facebook zombies around who don’t talk or move. Thank you for your understanding.

    General house duties like cleaning the shower and compost toilet, kitchen, communal areas, etc will be shared by everybody who’s living on the farm at the moment.

    Please don’t expect a fully self sufficient farm, but be ready for pioneering spirit in a place where many good things can happen.

    Feel free to contact us for more details about us or anything else you wanna know.



    Cheers! Claudia & Dominik

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)









Host ref number: 596891741519