Come and help me to took after my dogs in Dong Thap, Vietnam

Country

Vietnam

Favourited 119 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for a live-in dog sitter while I am working/away. I am in my early 40's, a world traveller, with 4 wonderful dogs. 1 dog usually travels with me. Three of the dogs are Phu Quoc Ridgebacks, so it is your chance to experience a very unique breed of dog (for those dog lovers out there!) They are highly active dogs, and need plenty of exercise and play, and love cuddles. We live in a rural community in South Vietnam, on the beautiful Mekong River. I have a large home with plenty of space. The city is relaxed, with lots of parks, coffee shops, and restaurants. It is incredibly cheap to live here and people are extremely friendly and laid back. We are 3 hours away from Ho Chi Minh city, and there is a fantastic coach service around the country.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is such a great opportunity to experience small town Vietnam living. You will be based in a local community with no expats, 4 foreigners in the entire town, and lots of friendly children. Plenty of ways to visit the local surrounding villages, and to learn Vietnamese or Chinese.
    It is also a chance for dog lovers to experience the Phu Quoc ridgeback, which are a rare breed native to Vietnam. They are a small dog but natural hunters. They love to jump, climb, swim, run incredibly fast, and generally get up to mischief. Lots of fun! They love to eat native fruits such as pawpaw, and mango, fish, pork and fresh vegetables.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for one or two friendly, super responsible people who can assist with dog walking, supervising and playing with the dogs. They should also help with looking after my home and pups while I am overseas on short trips and working long hours.

    While I am in country; You will be expected to be on-hand to assist with walking the dogs twice a day, playing with the dogs for an hour or two a day if I am working a long day, general chores such as feeding dogs, preparing their food, and cleaning their crates and bedding, and household duties (such as meeting a courier, collecting water). I will ensure I am at home during your first few weeks so that you can acclimatize and find your way around, and the dogs can bond with you.
    While I am away; be able to be home to walk the dogs 2- 3 times a day, order or buy dog food and household items within a set budget, keep the dogs happy and comfortable. Hose down the dog run at the back of the house every few days. Take care of general maintenance of the house.
    When I am in town, you are free to travel and use the house as your base in Vietnam with prior arrangement. Basically I need you to keep the ship running while I am away and while I am working long hours. I cannot stress enough that we are a small community town, no expat environment, and no movie theaters, KFC's, Starbucks or bars. You must be able to handle a quiet, chilled out, traditional lifestyle and really love dogs! Everyone is super friendly, and the dogs have many people who love to say hello and have cuddles while out for walks.

    We have had an experience with one of our last petsitters, where I had to go away urgently for 3 days, and my dog became sick after a surgery, and was pooping in the house as soon as he was let out of his crate. Due to his medication and antibiotics he was unable to hold on, and had diarrhoea. Because these things do happen with dogs, just like with children, I would recommend that only people with experience apply for this role. The pet sitters did really wonderful, and I commend them, but managing a sick dog was a bit of a surprise for them!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, some arabic

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a comfortable room in my home, with a double bed and air conditioner. Wardrobe and space in the kitchen for your extra food/goodies. You can eat out as you wish at your own cost, but you are invited to eat meals that I will cook in the evenings. We have a cleaner/maid, but you will be expected to keep things in reasonable condition and pick up after yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are so many lovely places to visit here, from Phu Quoc Island, to Hanoi and Halong Bay. Many small villages, rice fields and jungle. Birds, lizards and water buffalo are all around us here. With Airasia you can get incredibly cheap airfares all around Southeast Asia from HCMC. You can buy a scooter cheaply here, or a bicycle, and I find it very easy to walk most places. Taxi's are easy using an app (so you dont need to worry about language barriers). It is a quiet town, and most people are in bed by 10pm, so I would expect you to be home by then so we can lock the gates (unless prior arrangement). Everything usually closes by that time. It is an ideal place for people who like to wander, drink iced coffee and oolong tea, and read books or engage in hobbies. We can order most things online such as english books and magazines, and clothes.
    Our town is famous for its food, and it is a mixture of asian and french cuisine. Lots of fresh seafood, noodles, crusty french bread, wine, brandy, and traditional bbq meats.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 days a week when I am here

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (3.0)




Host ref number: 596881786364