1 / 4

Help on an established eco farm in Central Portugal

  • Favourited 33 times
  • Last activity: 13 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Established in Portugal 2009, our aim is everything associated with self reliance for our changing world.
    We are Mike & Mary, 25 years of large scale organic mixed stock farming & processing experience in the UK

    For this winter we are specifically looking for people with building experience.

    We are looking for a practical couple, ideally with own van accommodation for a longer term stay.

    Alternatively the use of our caravan.
    Mostly working mornings, good plug in electric supply, water & internet.
    Everything associated with a self reliant life, welcoming exchange of ideas & experience.

    Ongoing projects.
    Reconstruction of a small stone house.
    Expanding flock of Cameroon sheep.
    Establishing our permaculture food forest.
    Solar & hydro electric maintenance.
    Ongoing vegetable, fruit & meat production.
    Tractor assisted compost production.
    Beautiful River beach.

    We live by the Rio Dao & have direct access onto a beautiful 60 km cycle/walking track between Viseu & Santa Comba Dao.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will benefit from learning from our extensive experience of farming and self sufficiency. Learn about the intricacies of living off grid in a sustainable and comfortable way!

  • Help


    We are ideally looking for a capable couple with mixed skills.
    Primarily we need help with a variety of tasks on the land, including vegetable production, fencing, construction of animal housing, and reconstruction of our small cottage..
    Help to finish our pallet & cob cabin.
    General building skills, (roofing, carpentry, fencing, etc)
    Help with growing and harvesting
    Animal care -

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation could be our caravan.
    WiFi access is available around and in the main house.
    Basic food is provided -). There are plenty of eggs and home grown produce to enjoy. We are flexible regarding the set up around mealtimes and whether meals are shared together or not and this can be discussed and agreed between us!

    Ideally your own van or caravan

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Your own transport is essential. Locally there are many outdoor activities and local beauty spots to explore and we will help you to explore like a local.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Low ground clearance motorhomes cannot get to our Quinta. Van conversions no problem.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Well behaved and friendly.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 595889659927



Help me create a paradise on an ancient farm in Vale de Prazeres, Portugal
Woodwork, small construction, vegetable garden and pamper our tiny syntropic forest at Cabo Espichel, Sesimbra, Portugal