Help at an off-grid farmstead on the western banks of the Fraser River. Quesnel/Williams Lake/Cariboo, BC, Canada.

Country

Canada

Favourited 86 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are seeking volunteers for the 2020 growing and building season.

    We are a small, certified organic family farm. We grow more than an acre of vegetable crops and staple foods for the family as well as crops for sale at local farmers markets. Our time is split between garden tasks and ongoing construction projects. This year we are working on outbuildings for livestock. We also have two cows, pigs, chickens, cats, dogs... and our eldest daughter has a donkey.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers help us and gain skills in the garden, including: planting, weeding, thinning, harvesting, setting up irrigation equipment, packing, weighing and selling vegetables.

    In the area of building, volunteers will help with all aspects that are in process over the duration of their stay. We have built our infrastructure using a variety of methods, which we are open to discussing with our interns. There is always a building project or two on the go.

    It would be best if volunteers enjoy children as we have two inquisitive and lively young beings about!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our lifestyle is very rustic. We live off the grid on solar and wind power. During the growing season, we use an outdoor compost-heated shower and an outdoor composting toilet. Interns, volunteers and apprentices sleep in tents and we currently sleep in our "work-in-progress-but almost-finished" cabin. We also cook food outdoors in the summer as all our cooking is currently done on wood cookstoves and inside it is too warm. We do have a common space available in a yurt, where we eat and hang out to use wifi etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It would be beneficial for volunteers to bring a tent, sleeping bag and sleeping mattress.

    And thank you very much for your interest, but we cannot accommodate vegan volunteers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hrs per day/ 5 days per week

Folks merrily splitting firewood.

Host ref number: 594873462242