Family home - constructing, gardening & sharing - just outside Ghent, Belgium

  • Favourited 182 times
  • Last activity: 14 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hallo! We are a family living just outside of Ghent (Belgium) who are looking for some extra hands to help out in the garden or in Brams Bronze atelier. For this spring we need helping hands in the garden,you will mainly be working on your own, ofcourse with the necessary instructions and if you have skills on chalumeau welding, then you could help Bram in his atelier. Anna works in Ghent as a teacher. Our kids are 13 and 11 years old. And we have a cat, a dog and chicken. We like to welkom open-minded people who like to share with us their skills and stories.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a family who likes traveling too. We travelled India, Thailand, South & Central-America, Morocco and Europe and we would love to welcome now the world in our cosy home. As we have 2 children we like to welcome people who want to enjoy family-life. We live close to Ghent, a beautiful city in Belgium with a lot of culture, music, cafés, musea...

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    This spring we have a lot of work in the garden: Cutting trees, weeding, little construction work for wood etc. Also helping out Bram with his artworks for upcoming exhibitions and depending on your skills helping in Brams atelier is also an option. It is also nice if you can join the housekeeping by cooking or cleaning. Depending on your interests and abilities. We have some working clothes available if necessary. Bram is most of the time around the house. In the weekends we enjoy family time and gardening. For you a good moment to get to know the surroundings or do a trip to Ghent or another close by city. Anna works outdoors and will be around for a talk and some work in the garden. We will not always be at home. We try to organise it so that at least one of us is home, but there may be days where none of us is home for a few hours. We do not count the hours we work ourselves and prefer not to count yours either, unless you prefer that. We are quite flexible and we believe in open communication where we can all listen to the needs of everyone and act accordingly.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a Yurt (Mongolian tent) in the garden as accommodation, with a fire stove, outside toilet. You can use the bathroom inside the house that we share. We offer food: morning, lunch & dinner. You can also use your own kitchen close to the yurt.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can reach our house with public transport (train & bus). We live about 20km from Ghent, a wonderful city to vist and enjoy. And of course, as Belgium is tiny, you can travel easily to Brussels/Antwerp/Brugge in no time (half an our to 1 our by train) from our house. In the surroundings of the house there are many walking-possibilities and cycling tours.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 618864311167

Feedback (10)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Looking for somebody who can help with website building/blogging near Namur, Belgium
Join our family and help with horses, trees, bushes, children..... in Erwetegem, Belgium