Help for multiple tasks in a country house in the Natural Park of Aiguamolls de l'Empordà (Costa Brava - spain)

  • Spain
  • Favourited 57 times
  • Last activity: 4 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    Hello everybody! We are a family of 3 who are looking for people who can help us with the tasks of our country house. These tasks are very diverse and are related to the garden, the chickens and the maintenance of the house (garden, painting, construction, cleaning...)

    For those who sign up early will be able to help prepare an organic garden from scratch, do the care, harvesting, winter preparation, etc...

    Another job is to feed the chickens and collect the eggs. Also to open them to walk and eat in a natural way. All the food is organic and, therefore, also its production. Today, we have nine hens and a friendly but warlike rooster, named "Wazi".

    And both the vegetables from the garden and the eggs can be used for your own food.

    Other jobs include rebuilding a stone wall using hydraulic lime, weeding the garden, mowing the lawn, painting, etc... And also taking care of our two dogs "Lluna" and "Kala".

    About ourself, we are passionate about nature, sports and gastronomy in this area. But we also love to travel and meeting new cultures.

    In my particular case, I really like plants and their pharmacological uses. I have my small laboratory in a corner of the house where I prepare some tinctures and ointments. Of course I will be happy to share my knowledge if anyone is interested. I am also a member of the traditional Catalan showgroup 'Els senyors del foc'. We do "correfocs" all over Girona and the south of France and we are known as "Diables". If you like this kind of fire show, you can come and play with the devils in the fire.

    My wife, Anna, she is a yoga teacher and does some classes at the farm and some in other rooms. You are also welcome to join the classes she does in our farm room.

    One of the basic pillars in social relationships for us is respect and discretion. Therefore, we ask that applicants take this detail into account. We do not like the dicussions, nor the fights, nor the conflictive situations. We like to live independently, with respect and with love. We wish that volunteers can enjoy these characteristics when they are with us, so any behavior that is not respectful, conflictive or childish would mean not continuing in our project.

    Regarding our work standards, we consider ourselves hardworking and persevering people who adapt to what may come.

    We hope to enjoy with volunteers a great time and sharing knowledgment and experiences.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll be able to get to know what it's like to live in a protected Natural Park. With a bit of luck, you might have a chat with one of the forest rangers about birds of prey or amphibians.

    Learn how to create an organic garden from planning to full operation. Organic chicken breeding and rearing.

    Learn or enhance Ashtanga Yoga.

    Discover the magic of wild plants. Learn about their uses, collection and pharmacological preparations.

    Discover Catalan culture from the "correfocs" by entering the parade with "Els senyors del foc"

    Besides discovering the fantastic Costa Brava; its little undiscovered corners and transparent waters.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    All those who have some experience in the mentioned fields are a plus. But basically we are looking for people who are motivated to work hard and who are flexible with the type of work they are asked to do.

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    We offer a caravan situated in the garden with 220v power socket and access to chlorinated well water (we do not have access to running water). Access to toilet.

    Due to the type of accommodation offered, the most appropriate is a single person, two friends or a couple.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers can take advantage of their stay to get to know the area or relax on the plot. About 30 minutes walk there is a bus stop that connects with the entire region.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This is our preferred option! We have a large lot with some trees where you can park a motorhome or caravan. There is access to electricity and treated well water. There is also a toilet available.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 593276773396

Feedback (1)