Living with donkeys in Quebec, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 205 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    180

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are located in the Eastern Townships. We have a dairy donkey farm and we produce donkey milk cosmetics. We have a great land where it is good to live.

    We are a family of 4: Cécile, Marie-Noëlle, Sasha (7 years) and Florane (11 years). Our daughters are curious and sociable, they will be happy to explain life on the farm! We opted for a simple lifestyle and practice self-sufficiency to the maximum.

    To do this, we have gardens but also chickens, fowl, pig, quails (this year we want to add ducks). Not to mention our pet cow and our dog, a Bernese Mountain Dog.

    We have been welcoming travelers for 3 years already. We like to build bonds and make our culture known. Cécile is French while Marie-Noëlle is a Quebecer. The farm is the ancestral farm of the latter.

    We raise donkeys with respect for their nature. We like to live at their own pace and learn from them. Donkeys are very safe and sociable animals (they come to seek contact with humans).

    We take full advantage of what nature offers us and love to share!
    -----------------------

    Notre asinerie est située dans les Cantons de l'Est. Nous avons un élevage d'ânesse laitière et produisons des cosmétiques au lait d'ânesse. Nous avons une grande terre où il fait bon vivre.

    Nous sommes une famille de 4: Cécile, Marie-Noëlle, Sasha (8 ans) et Florane (12 ans). Nos filles sont curieuses et sociables, elles se feront un plaisir de vous expliquer la vie sur la ferme! Nous avons opté pour un mode de vie simple et pratiquons l'autosuffisance au maximum.

    Pour ce faire, nous avons des jardins mais aussi des poules, coq à chair, porc, cailles (cette année, nous souhaitons ajouter des canards). Sans oublier notre vache de compagnie et notre chienne, un bouvier bernois.

    Nous accueillons des voyageurs depuis 5 ans déjà. Nous aimons tisser des liens et faire connaître notre culture. Cécile est française alors que Marie-Noëlle est québécoise. La ferme est d'ailleurs la ferme ancestrale de cette dernière.

    Nous élevons des ânesses dans le respect de leur nature. Nous aimons vivre à leur rythme et apprendre d'elles. Les ânes sont des animaux très sécuritaires et sociables (ils viennent chercher le contact avec l'humain).

    Nous profitons au maximum de ce que la nature nous offre et aimons le partager!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda con animales

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will learn about organic production, manual labor, donkeys, simple lifestyle, working with animals and getting in touch with them. We offer an immersion in a Franco-Québécois family. Our daughters are very sociable and the bonds are tied, in general, very quickly. We like to make known our corner of the country as well as the way of life on a farm.
    -----------------------

    Ils pourront apprendre sur la production bio, le travail manuel, les ânes, le mode de vie simple, le travail avec les animaux et entrer en relation avec eux. Nous offrons une immersion dans une famille franco-québécoise. Nos filles sont très sociables et les liens se tissent, en général, très rapidement. Nous aimons faire connaître notre coin de pays ainsi que le mode de vie sur une asinerie.

  • Help

    Help

    For the spring/summer is planned: construction of shelters in fields, fences, to clean and to brush donkeys, excavation, gardening, firewood ... This year, we look for somebody who loves the public to hold the farm during the visits and\or give explanations to the visitors on the company and on the production.

    We also look for the rare pearl which would be interested to stay with us all summer long (in July and August). She will have to be bilingual with a level of excellent English because her main occupation would be to play with our daughters in English. In reality, the girls are very autonomous and do not need to be kept, but we look for an English-speaking dumping at the house for her. The ideal would be that this person is interested in the arts, the music (we have several instruments at the house: piano, violin, cello, ukulele, flute) and like animals. Sometimes, we would also need help with the clientele.
    -----------------------

    Pour le printemps / été est prévu: Aide avec les animaux, les touristes, le potagers et l'entretien du terrain.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    français

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Last year, we bought a large caravan (room, living room, kitchenette, refrigerator ...) so that the visitors have their privacy. We placed it near the house and everyone therefore also has free access to the house. The meals are taken 100% or in part with the family, according to the wishes of each one. We do not have specific rules on this and we discuss with everyone.
    -----------------------

    L'an dernier, nous avons acheté une grande caravane pour que les visiteurs aient leur intimité. Nous l'avons placée près de la maison et tout le monde à donc aussi un accès libre à la maison (douche, cuisine...). Les repas sont prit avec la famille.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are looking for open and respectful people. You have internet access, but we ask you to use it outside your hours worked and not in the house (in order to give more space to interpersonal relationships). No work under pressure, but we still want work to move forward. We like it when people are volunteers and we do not feel comfortable putting pressure to bear.
    -----------------------

    Nous recherchons des gens ouverts et respectueux. Vous avez un accès internet, mais nous vous demandons de l'utiliser à l'extérieur de vos heures travaillées. Aucun travail sous pression, mais nous souhaitons tout de même que le travail avance. Nous aimons lorsque les gens sont volontaires et nous ne sommes pas à l'aise de devoir mettre de la pression.

    Suite aux années et expériences d'accueil, nous avons fait le choix d'ouvrir notre ferme aux femmes seulement. Aussi, dans le but de favoriser l'intégration, bien que nous accueillons 2-3 personnes en même temps, nous préférons accueillir les personnes voyageant seules.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 heures par jour, 5 j/sem.





Host ref number: 238536851576