Help out with a few tasks on my land and discover the Wild Atlantic Way outside Bantry, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/08/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Im a young farmer running my family farm just 5mins outside Bantry town along the Wild Atlantic Way, only an hour from the bustling city. West Cork couldn't contrast more, with a slower more laid back lifestyle and a wide range of amenities and activities it's sure to make the best of your trip to Ireland.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a small farmer I can show how the grass based system that us Irish farmers are so proud of works by going on knowledge transfer walks and live sales.
    There is also a massive historical significance to the area from standing stones and ringforts to a museum dedicated to the French armada of 1796 and the most South Westerly part of Ireland (Mizen Head ) a functional light house witch is still an important weather station is a must visit live music an many more beside

  • Help

    Help

    Help with some small tasks that require 2 people from an ease point of view mostly cutting wood and fencing hedge trimming and a bit of help with the animal in the form of shifting from paddock to paddock and feeding where needed.
    I've reasonable expectations an all progress is aimed towards the spring season and as such I am flexible with tasks (indoor v outdoor)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Irish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a modern 2 story house with my mother it's well heated and the person how chooses to stay will have there own room
    We have good phone coverage and good Internet/wifi

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a local link bus that dose not pass far from the door likewise bus eireann run multiple bus to Cork throughout the day there is also a bus to kenmare runs for the summer
    I can also drive withen a reasonable distance

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 591644278219