Gardening volunteers wanted for permaculture project in West Cork, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    This small project is in West Cork, Ireland near the source of the river Lee.
    I live in a little cabin in a field where I grow vegetables, keep chickens and have a fruit tree nursery.

    I am a self-employed permaculture designer and this is my testing site where I try out ideas to later use for design clients.

    I'm re- building a yurt which will be for volunteers when its done - for now during the summer there is camping.
    The place is basic in some ways - compost toilet, limited electrical power - especially in the winter, but its also wild and beautiful.
    Spring water on tap.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Depending on how long you stay you could learn:
    - how to design and operate a low maintenance poultry tractor system
    - sheet mulching
    - hot compost making
    - scything
    - french drain building
    - yurt building
    - vegetable gardening skills
    - other permaculture related skills/info

    This is a Gaeltacht area. It could suit someone studying the Irish language, but English will work here too. I also speak French and Spanish relatively well. It's off grid and has (limited) power from a small solar PV system - virtually no power in the depths of winter unless its been sunny :) There's a mains charging point nearby though at my neighbours pump house.

  • Help

    Help

    The main activities that I'd want help with here over the spring/summer 2019 are:
    - yurt building
    - French drain building
    - sowing and planting vegetables
    - weeding and hoeing
    - making hot compost
    - scything
    - sheet mulching of the nursery and garden
    - watering
    - cooking
    - cleaning
    - painting
    - Looking after chickens. This involves moving the electric fencing & mobile chicken house, cleaning it out and collecting eggs.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Irish, French, Spanish, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are two rooms to the cabin - my bedroom and the living room-kitchen. Accommodation is camping (until the yurt is finished anyway). I have a spare tent for you and roll mats. Ideally you'll bring a sleeping bag, but we can sort that too if not. Meals are from the garden and eggs from the chickens, supplemented with a mix of bought organic and non-organic food from the supermarket.

    There is a gas shower we can use and compost toilets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beautiful scenery and nature. Non-existent public transport. I'm near Gugán Barra which is a famous beauty spot with hikers and pilgrims.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 588268997214