Help with language practice and painting in Vasilaki, Peloponnese, Greece.

Country

Greece

new host  

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am Greek sharing my life between Greece, France and Canada. I have a lot of energy and I love learning! I like exploring and traveling. I am a lot into history, animals, science and nature. I also love sharing and teaching whatever I know! In Greece I own a small property close to ancient Olympia (the birth place of the Olympic games) in Peloponnese, southwest Greece. My cottage has a front garden with flowers and garden plants, and a backyard with fruit bearing trees. Close to my village there are many natural spots including rivers, forests and waterfalls (Nemouta). I am staying in this cottage when I want to relax and work on my projects, away from the crowded and noisy cities. Company is always welcome to accompany me to my projects, share new experiences and explore the surroundings together.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning about the history by visiting the archaeological sites (e.g. ancient Olympia) and the monasteries of the area; learn/practise Greek, learn greek recipes (if my mum is around because i am not very good in this..), interact with the locals and explore Greek nature by visiting together the near by natural parks including waterfalls, forests and rivers.

  • Help

    Help

    As part of my family tradition, you will help me and take part in the olive harvest season this December (Dec 23th – Dec 30th). We will go to my farm where you will have the experience of a lifetime either by handpicking olives and placing them directly in a basket or by picking them using a net. Once packed, we will then transport them to the local olive oil press and mill, where you will see the procedure of extraction, the storage, and standardization process of extra virgin olive oil. I would also like to practise my English and my French! Italian and Arabic are also in the list :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I am offering a private room inside the cottage (+ sheets/blankets) and access to Wi-Fi. In regards to food, I can provide the food put I am not very proud of my cooking skills...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To reach my place you have to come to Pyrgos, which is the closest city to my village. There are daily busses from Athens to Pyrgos. When in Pyrgos, I will pick you up with my car and come to my place. If you want to go around during your free time there is a bus from my village going to Olympia and the city of Pyrgos, but the connection is rare, so if needed I can give you a ride. Around my area there few natural spots, like forests and a river where you can explore them by yourself (walking) or together with my car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 587555971664