Working in the Mahahual's jungle, Quintana Roo, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 609 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/02/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    472

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 22 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi my name is Raul and i'm living in the beatiful jungle, 6 km from the Mexican Carribean beach of Mahahual. I have 3 cats, and a familie of Meliponas Bees.

    My dream is to produce healthy food in the way that environment and people are respected.

    We build one home with materials from the area and planted difent types of fruit trees.

    Our goal is to provide 20 families weekly with fruit, vegetables and aromatic plants.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Hola mi nombre es Raul ; Y vivo en la hermosa selva de Quintana Roo, 6 km de la playa de Mahahual en el Caribe Mexicano. Tengo 3 gatos, y una familia de Abejas Meliponas.

    Mi sueño es producir alimentos sanos de manera respetuosa para el medio ambiente y las personas.

    Hemos construido una casa con materiales del lugar y sembrando variedad de árboles frutales.

    Nuestra meta es abastecer a 20 familias semanalmente de una variedad de frutas, verduras y plantas aromáticas.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can discuss Mexican culture, the Mayan architecture, indigenous traditions, we can help and give advice on where to dive ,( i'm a dive master) and fish.
    We can teach you how to make typical food as well as skills such as plumbing and electrics.
    You can get involved in the local community projects to ask one about reducing plastic consumption where we also volunteers.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Podemos hablar sobre cualquier cultura de Mexico, la arquitectura Maya, las tradiciones indígenas, el arrecife mesoamericano y dar consejos para buceo pues , soy dive marter , snorkeling, pescar y flyfishing en la zona.

    Les podemos enseñar hacer cocina mexicana, plomería, electricidad.

    Si quieren se pueden involucrar en la comunidad local, hay un proyecto bien bonito para bajar el consumo de plástico donde nosotros estamos como voluntarios. Pueden aprender hacer popotes de carrizo, tejer tapetes de tela, hacer bolsas de playeras usadas, manualidades de reciclaje, ir a la escuela primaria.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for help with our garden, making a traditional compost, bio construction, helping with jungle maintenance, creating an environment for the reintroduction of animals.
    I used 4 volunteers at the same time , we ask for a month.
    In this volunteer they can learn:
    - construcción & bioconstruction
    - how the forest is maintained, creating a reservoir for wildlife with biological corridors between planters to allow wild animals to transit and endemic life persist.

    Examples of tasks:
    - Collection of stones in the jungle to build walls of 80 cm in the planters
    - Grind leaves and branches of the forest in a motor mill and prepare the substrate for planting
    - irrigate fruit trees, aromatic herbs, grass and vegetables
    - start a garden in the garden of 170 m already listed
    - build dry and biodigestor baths and a wood stove
    - other tasks such as maintenance of the house, shopping, cleaning etc.

    If they have experience with permaculture or agroecology, we are open to new ideas and projects that they can develop if they are consistent with our philosophy.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    Busco 4 voluntarios a la vez, y solicitamos que esten un mes minimo
    En este voluntariado pueden a aprende:
    - construccion y bioconstruccion
    - como se mantiene la selva, creando un reservorio para la vida silvestre con corredores biologicos entre jardineras para permitir que los animales salvajes pueden transitar y que la vida endemica persista.

    Ejemplos de tareas:
    - Recolecion de piedras en la selva para construir muros de 80 cm en las jardineras
    - Moler hojas y ramas de la selva en un molino de motor y preparar el substrato para la siembra
    - regar arboles frutales, hierbas aromaticas, el pasto y las hortalizas
    - empezar una huerta en la jardinera de 170 m que ya esta lista
    - construir baños secos y con biodigestor y una estufa de leña
    - ocasional, tambien pueden ocurrir varias tareas como mantenimiento de la casa, hacer compras, limpieza etc.

    Si tienen experiencia con permacultura o agroecologia, estamos abiertos a nuevos ideas y proyectos que pueden desarollar si estan consistentes con nuestra filosofia.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I offer food twice a day in exchange for help 6 hrs/day. The accommodation is in a large traditional tent with double bed, two individual bed and mosquito's net, shared bathroom and shower with hot water for now (cause hot weather is not needed). Shared Kitchen and freegerator.
    I live 6 km from town and beach, we have a bikes for borrow and there is room in the car when we go to town so you can come with us.
    If you want to go out at night taxi charge 150 pesos (7 euros/8$).

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Ofrezco 2 comidas al dia a cambio de 6 horas de trabajo, 5 dias a la semana.
    Ofrecemos alojamiento en una carpa de 25 metros cuadrados con cama matrimonial, dos catres individuales y mosquitero.
    Baño compartido con ducha, sin agua caliente por el momento (cuando hace calor no hace falta).
    Cocina y refrigerador compartidos.
    Vivo a 6 km del centro de Mahahual y la playa, en el medio de la selva. Tengo bicicletas que los voluntarios pueden ocupar. Cuando voy con el coche al centro, tambien pueden venir conmigo
    Si quieren salir de noche, el taxi es mas o menos 150 pesos (7 euro/8$).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you like the beach and wild nature this is a perfect location for you.
    Mahahual is a small relaxing town with a lot of activities for free time, including party and bars.
    Snorquelling, diving, kayaking at mangroves.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Si le gusta la playa, la naturaleza salvaje y la tranquilidad esto es el lugar perfecto. Mahahual es un pueblo pequeño y tranquilo, pero hay un monton de actividades que pueden hacer en su tiempo libre, incluyendo bares y fiestas.

    Snorkeling, buceo, flyingfishing en Mahahual
    Kayaing en los manglares
    Reserva biosfera de Sian Ka´n ' 30km
    Ruinas chacchoben - 70km
    Laguna de 7 colores Bacalar y cenotes - 90km
    Ruta de las iglesias

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





















Host ref number: 414541165871