Come spend time with us in Cranbrook, BC - in the western foothills of the Canadian Rockies!

Country

Canada

Favourited 103 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    WORKAWAYER

    *️️*️️UPDATED Sept. 2019*️️*️️

    We moved from Nanaimo BC to Cranbrook BC September of 2016. Cranbrook is in the East Kootenays, about 2 hours drive west of the BC/Alberta border. Our home in Cranbrook is within walking distance of downtown - but almost on the edge of town! A 'country in the city ' kind of place. We are on almost 1/2 an acre of land on the northwest edge of Cranbrook - close enough to walk to downtown, and also close enough to walk to lots of bush trails. But we do have to be aware that there are bears and other wildlife who use the same trails! If you stay with us you are almost guaranteed to see lots of deer.

    Our new home is smaller than our Nanaimo home was, and we are working on renovating it! So far we have completed a brand new, bright basement bedroom, bathroom and family room. Just need a bit of final finishing, which we are working on. We've also done a lot of work on the main floor: earlier this year the previous owner came to get some mail, and couldn't believe the improvements we have done! More renos planned for the spring.

    We are semi-retired (even though Grant is still working full-time), and enjoy having guests stay with us. We do Homestay and B&B, but also have Workawayers sometimes for a more low-keyed change of pace. Often having a Workawayer when we also have B&B guests really works well.

    The ideal Workawayer will be someone who 'clicks ' with us/ME and can jump in and help with whatever is needed. Sometimes you will work long and hard and other times it will be little work and more relaxing. But, you will have fun - be treated as one of the family - and see interesting parts of BC.

    Please join us on our adventure in 'pre-retirement ' in the KOOTENAYS! We are a very experienced Homestay Family. We have one cat and hope to get a new dog soon. We are a NON-SMOKING HOME/PROPERTY. Sorry, but we do NOT accept Workawayers who smoke.

    You are very welcome to join us when we go on outings. We usually try and get out for a dog-walk to a local trail several times a week, fishing (have a boat) etc. - though some of this has been on hold with the renovations! Other interests include gardening, History, reading, Interior Design, Crafts and exploring the area we live in. Not vegetarian, but can accommodate vegetarians if they are ok with meat on the table and still helping with cooking/cleaning meat dishes. We try to be very environmentally conscious.

    We look for an average of about 25 HOURS Help a week from our Workawayers. This is NOT free room & board, but rather room & board in exchange for Help. We believe the Workawayers who most enjoy their stay with us are those who do the most work, do the best work, and work the hardest. Christine has ESL teaching experience and we can both help with ESL tutoring/teaching. Everyone who stays with us - and is not a native English speaker - leaves very happy that their English has really improved!

    We look forward to sharing our home and culture with you!

    Grant and Christine

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being part of our 'family'. Seeing lots of British Columbia! Lots and lots of speaking English!

  • Help

    Help

    We look for an average of about 25 hours help a week from our Helpers. Christine has ESL teaching experience and we can help with ESL tutoring/teaching.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom in house. In summer a tent or other alternate accommodation might be possible if our main guest room is in use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our current situation is a bit unique as we are looking for someone to help us after September 1st - after we have moved.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum a week

Host ref number: 5874398994a7