Join us and help around our home and garden in Shropshire, England

Country

United Kingdom

new host  

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in an old house in a beautiful part of the Shropshire countryside, 15 minutes from Shrewsbury. You are very aware of the seasons here! We have 3 grown up children who live away or are at university. We have an elderly dog and two cats. We have a large garden, a vegetable garden and a couple of outbuildings. We would be happy to have one or two visitors. We have a very busy house with lots of activity. I am an English teacher so would be very happy to help you with your language studies. We are a cosmopolitan family with mixed heritage and you would be welcomed and included in our activities as a member of the family.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am of mixed heritage born in London but now living in the English countryside, which is at the heart of the industrial revolution. There is a lot of history in this beautiful part of England. We are very interested in sharing all this with you! I understand what it is like to live in another country and would help and encourage you to learn.

  • Help

    Help

    We mainly need help with the vegetable garden and the main garden, planting, digging, weeding so experience of this kind would be wonderful. We also need help in the house with tidying and cleaning, painting and general maintenance skills as we are renovating / updating our old house. If you have building or carpentry skills that would be appreciated as we have some plans for the outdoor area of the house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, French, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own room and use of a shared bathroom with a good shower. You are welcome to eat with us, and participate in the preparation of food. We would enjoy learning about your food culture!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to see! In our local area are Shrewsbury, Ludlow, the Shropshire Hills, an area of outstanding beauty with lots of walking and cycling. We can drop you off at the local station about 8 miles away, so you can explore. We are close to Birmingham, Liverpool, Chester, Manchester for days or weekends away. We have busy lives and you will meet many people here to practise your English. We will only take non-smokers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 587262993611