Country Living - help around our little piece of heaven with a variety of home owner tasks, Washington State, USA

Country

United States

updated   Last minute

Favourited 191 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    320

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I live on 5 beautiful acres of wooded land in the great northwest.
    We share this wonderful maritime area with bald eagles, pileated wood peckers, hawks, barred owls, great blue heron and a variety of seasonal birds. Bats and dragon flies hunt over the pond, where frogs sing by night from early spring to late summer.

    Over the past 30 plus years of raising our family here, we've integrated into an exceptional community where we continue to build our home and dreams.

    My husband of 34 years is a project manager of a large construction firm. But his real gift and passion is music. He is an exceptionally talented musician, playing a wide range of percussion instruments as well as keyboards. His primary instrument is the vibraphone, around which he organizes bands, providing great local music for various occasions like weddings, anniversaries, house warmings, gallery openings, funerals and fundraisers. If time allows, he continues with his online software company. He speaks Mandarin Chinese and some Dutch...a little rusty on both but he picks it up again once he gets going.

    I am a case manager and caregiver who works privately with people in our community to bring personal care and hospice care into their homes. My creative work is in soft textiles: knitting and quilting, as well as my small garden. In my beautiful quilt studio, I make quilts to give and sell through my ETSY shop. I need help marketing my textiles and the technical side of setting up a business on the internet: web design, blogging, social media marketing, etc.

    We joined WorkAway about three years ago as a way to meet people from different areas and cultures and have some help with regular household management tasks. We have had many wonderful people come into our lives through this organization and look forward to more new friends each year.

    We are a very busy household with a variety of projects in the yard and garden along with some small construction needs. If you are good at self starting, time management, have a strong work ethic with good follow through, communicate well, want to see some pretty country and meet nice people, come join us for a memorable visit to this haven.

    We are a smoke free home with two dogs. We are having fun as hosts: meeting new people, sharing in new experiences and we appreciate the help with our projects. We value family, good friends, hard work and a job well done.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a textile artist with material for quilting and knitting...happy to teach and share. I have a good understanding about gardening as well as the plant and animal life of the island. End of life care is my life's work and I am happy to share all I know in that realm.

    My husband is a top notch musician who loves to share his talents, a poet and a skilled carpenter.

    We have a sweat lodge to fire up as time and weather permits as well as woods and ocean all around to explore and learn about.

    We are connected with many amazing and skilled people on the island and in the area who are eager to share their knowledge and experience with travelers. We are happy to connect people to our friends to engender greater learning and sharing of common ideas. The island offers a visitor the experience of participating in traditional smelt fishing, a juvenile salmon monitoring program, visiting a state of the art recycle center, pay per entry music events and yard or beach parties with our friends during the summer months.

    Our home is representative of our values: step lightly on the earth, be kind and helpful, be resourceful and sustainable, have fun. Although we are both busy with full time work, we feel that one of our biggest offerings is a safe comfortable spot for a visitor to see into a small slice of America, meet new people, explore your own thoughts and see a beautiful part of the US.

    We embrace intentional living and personal responsibility as well as the arts and music. We have learned to live creativity and use these skills to improve the quality of our lives and the sustainability of our home and community.

  • Help

    Help

    Our place is a small homestead that is well established but needing the usual maintenance.
    We welcome help in carpentry, household maintenance and remodel as well as various yard and garden projects and support for our artistic pursuits.

    We have an ambitious wish list that includes several carpentry tasks as well as the usual yard maintenance and tech support. We are looking for help to re-roofing/remodel my husband's 200 square foot office, build sauna, build a new outhouse, construct a small food pantry with cupboards on the porch, break ground for a music studio, build a sleeping platform by the pond and technical support for our artist endeavors as well as simple daily chores.

    I would like to convert a small garden, approximately 200 square feet, into a low maintenance vegetable garden. It needs a fence and to redo the raised beds. If someone knows about irrigation I'd love to set up a system that draws from the pond. Otherwise, the garden tasks are simple and I am happy to teach what I know to any willing individual.

    Our wildlife pond needs an aeration system, so someone with experience in this area is VERY welcome. I would like to set up a water system that draws from the pond for use in the garden.

    In the yard, there is always firewood collection and general yard care.

    On the technology front, we could use help with exposure on social media for my textiles and Hawk's music.

    There are some small miscellaneous projects like stripping and refinishing two solid wood dressers, painting trim, re-staining the house, window washing, weed eating, holding the hammock down.

    I would like to learn clothing construction. My husband would like voice lessons. We are open to massage/energy work as part of your offering.

    People with a strong work ethic, willing to try a variety of tasks who have an attention to detail and good follow through will be a good match. In particular, anyone with some experience in building, tech, painting and garden skills will be a good match. Because my husband and I work full time and keep busy in community events, our ideal guests will have good self management skills, be able to occupy themselves at times, jump into family life and be open to joining in with the island vibe.

    Summer is a very busy time on the island and we are social people with a very diverse and talented group of friends. We believe in community and like to share the experience with our visitors so you will have plenty of social opportunities to see what island life is really like. We have a bicycle in good working order for your use and encourage you to see our island as well other nearby islands. Island life is a unique ecosystem and culture!!

    We look forward to getting to know people from other places, sharing our culture, our common ideas and our home while getting projects completed.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodations include a comfortable single bed in the house or glamping in tents in the yard...your choice. Due to size, we only accept one visitor at a time unless you choose to glamp or have a vehicle for sleeping. We have all the amenities of modern living except an indoor toilet...there's an outhouse for that.
    Our home is omnivorous and we have two friendly dogs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a stunningly beautiful area which is a destination spot for year round vacationers who love the outdoors for hikes and beach combing. We have a top star rated library, wonderful food options, a small museum of local history, an art gallery, a small fabric store and a summer time Farmers' Market. There are yoga classes and summer workshops for sailing and creative adventures. If you bring a car you can go anywhere. If not, we have a bike to loan.
    Currently, we have room for one person at a time. In future, we hope to be able to invite larger groups as well.
    We are a drug and smoke free home with minimal drinking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours daily 5 days per week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















Host ref number: 586383163454