Help with small outdoor projects, located in the middle of the Columbia Gorge, USA

Country

United States

new host  

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello. We live on a 9 acre property, in a home with three rentals along Carson Creek. We have a waterfall at the North and a lovely view point over the Columbia River just a 5 minutes walk to the South. We have ongoing maintenance projects around our home, like landscaping, building steps, trimming trees, and always pulling blackberry bushes or hauling falling branches out of the creek. Also, the opportunity for unique project, like digging trench for water/power, or building an outdoor bathroom area. We're interested in starting a garden.

    I also would love if you want to cook for me! Or there are carpentry projects in the house if you are skilled. Let us know what your skills are and we can find something I'm sure :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in the middle of the Columbia Gorge, a worldwide desination for outdoor adventure. Use us a a home base to explore and play! Hiking, kayaking, windsurfing, mountain biking, camping, waterfalls... we've got it all :)

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people who are not afraid to get dirty or work with your hands. If you are comfortable using a pole saw or weed whacker, that would be great. If you have building skills, that would be great.

    We'd like to build a stairway (using logs/rebar or something similar) down to the waterfall. We'd like to dig a trench to bring the water/power lines to the shed. We'd like help starting a garden. We'd like many trees limbed up. All sorts of projects.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an RV parked up near the waterfall. There is no services there, so it is like camping (glamping!) but you can use the shower at the house. Or you can set up your own tent and there are a number of different places you can do that. Please let us know if you prefer the RV (and do keep it tidy) or to set up your own tent.

    We are offering a few different levels:

    If not providing food, just using us as a home base, we only asking for 2 hours of work a day in exchange for camping out here. You can just do ten hours in one day if you want and stay for 4! Up to you about that.

    If you'd like 2 meals a day, we ask for 4 hours of work each day.

    For longer stays, we ask for 5 days worth of work, 2 day off, but you can sort the hours as you want through out the week (10 hours for camp, 20 hours for camp and food)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It would be idea if you had your own car. If you do not, it might be tough to access all the fun, although it is beautiful here and you can explore our land.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 586219724326