House guest help in the Bywater, New Orleans, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 170 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    316

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 44 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Made up of colorful houses amid bohemian cafés and neighborhood cocktail dens - the Bywater area is the authentic New Orleans.
    Live and experience the Jazz and culture which permeates here, with your private space, in a friendly, family atmosphere.

    Hey I am Joe! I am a Scottish native with a masters degree in mechanical engineering. New Orleans is my much loved, adopted home, where I stay with my partner and young son. I have a wide range of interests, from climbing and soccer (football) to astronomy and eco-housing.

    We recently bought a house in the Bywater and are looking for a volunteer (single or couple) to help us prepare guest rooms in our house. This involves making beds, cleaning rooms, bathrooms, kitchens and answering phone calls and emails as needed. Straightforward work and in exchange a safe and comfortable room in our family home, with wifi and utilities. Easy walking distance to cute cafes and a lively arts scene.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A chance to experience the real New Orleans and work outside, learning new skills. I love showing travelers our city. Just google New Orleans, there is a silly amount of great things to experience here.

    I also have a range of skills from finance, carpentry, language and many sports that I am always enthusiastic to teach (and to learn from) others.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    There are two main, separate duties that go along with this work exchange:
    1. The first is being responsible for ensuring the guest rooms/house I have in my home are kept clean for regular visitors. That means once in the morning and once in the evening doing a clean-up of communal spaces and any time a visitor leaves, then cleaning their room (changing bedsheets etc.).
    2. The second is being a point of contact for a couple of different group projects I have going on. I am involved in a few different projects around the area. In this role you would be acting as liaison person between me and those projects. That would involve answering phone calls / emails, dealing with small issues, check-up visits on group projects and relaying information on to me. It's very straightforward I would explain how to handle that.

    The nature of the above duties would require someone to be working around 3 hours on average per day, 7 days of the week, and someone with flexibility in their schedule. It is not suitable for someone looking to pick up part-time work elsewhere in the city (unless that work is completely flexible). Looking for someone that can commit a couple months or more.

    In exchange I offer a semi-private room (utilities included) with a shared bathroom in the Bywater, New Orleans - right off the St Claude arts corridor. A walkable area, Bywater is home to record and antiques shops, storied music venues, laid-back gin joints, and a growing gallery scene.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room in our family home, with all utilities and wifi. The beds are wooden and homemade and the mattress are new, full-size, memory foam.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If the volunteer wanted to take a few days off occasionally (say to go to the beach), I would be open to that, provided it was communicated ahead of time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3.5 hours a day, 7 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 321155161928