Stay in an off grid caravan among centenary olive trees in an ecological farm in Granada, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 181 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are Luna and Eduardo, brother and sister living in our family home in a beautiful valley on the south side of Sierra Nevada, 1 hour away from Granada and 30 minutes to the beach.


    This summer we hope to welcome motivated couples, that can work on their own, and who bring their own skillset and experiences, specially in construction, irrigation, landscaping, stone and wood work.
    We offer a caravan as a living space, where volunteers can have a more independent life while enjoying hiking in the surroundings, getting to know the community in Órgiva and spending time in our beautiful farm.

    Our property is 2 hectares, irrigated with the traditional system built by the Arabs called acequias.
    We have a few chickens, a dog, two cats, a veggie garden, centenary olive trees, orange and lemons, figs, pears, apples, etc.

    I'm a photographer and my brother works full time in industrial maintenance.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will be happy to help you improve or practice your Spanish. We have a good library of books available.
    We'd love to teach you our family recipes.

    This area is very diverse, with over 80 nationalities living around. A good book to get a deeper understanding of the life of a foreigner here is "Driving over lemons" by Christ Stewart, and is also a fun read.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people with some experience in construction, irrigation, landscaping, stone and wood work.
    Before the summer we want to set a drip irrigation system, connected to a fish pond and the acequia, as well as creating stone paths and planters. Bring on your inspiration!

    Around the house we need help repainting, cleaning and organizing. Someone with an eye for decoration would be fantastic!

    Creative minds are welcome too, help painting, upcycling, creating furniture out of scrap wood.

    We need general help in the farm and in the house. We are looking for self motivated, active people with an uplifting attitude!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We love languages! At home we often speak English and French, but we are also happy to help you with your Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We just bought a caravan to welcome volunteers and friends while offering more privacy and independence. Last year we welcomed people at home, and its a fantastic experience but it also requires a lot of energy from both sides.
    So now you would have your own space, with a 130cm wide bed, dry toilet, kitchen and dinning area. It has solar panel. We have lunch together at 1pm (I love cooking!) and you'll receive a weekly budget to do your groceries for breakfast and dinner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can go on hikes, bike rides or take a bus to Granada (1 hour) or the coast of Motril (40min).
    Órgiva is only 3km away, and you will find an active community of people offering activities such as yoga, meditation, kirtans, ecstatic dance, etc.
    In summer you can just chill and swim in the river or on our pool. There's also climbing spots around, horseback riding centers, windsurf and paddle board.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is no internet on the caravan, but you are welcome to be around the house too.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of space for a campervan or motorhome. You would be welcome to use the bathroom in the house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 585743712468