Come and help with the Renovation of an old house in Galway City, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 298 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey there,

    My name is Colm, I’m 35 years old, and I'm renovating an old house in Salthill, Galway. It is a major job involving gutting the existing house, knocking some of the rear, building two new small extensions, new plumbing, electrics, floors etc.

    At the time of writing this, we have gotten all of the structural work done and have completed the plaster-boarding. It's starting to come together nicely.

    An example of the work that you will be doing.. this week, with the help of my friend Jaume, we started doing some thermal lime plastering of some exterior walls. Next week we will be doing some prep work for the professional plasters who will be skimming the internal walls.

    So the work you'll be asked to do will be mainly building work - helping with whatever jobs need to be done on-site. The work varies from day to day. If you have skills or experience in this type of work that will be very helpful. If not, as long as you have common sense, can get stuck in and take pride in the work your doing then it will work out. You will get dirty each day but it's satisfying and you should learn some useful skills if you ever want to do some work on your own house in the future.

    While the works are being done, I am living in a 2 bed apartment in Oranmore. Oranmore is a nice small town 10km from Galway city. It's about a 30 minute bus ride into Galway city centre and buses go about every 30 minutes. Oranmore has lots of pubs and amenities in it's own right.

    I'm usually working on the house on Mondays and Tuesdays. Then on Wednesdays I go to Dublin to work, returning to work on the house on Friday afternoon. This time of year I usually spend one day of the weekend at my parents house working on my organic vegetable garden in East Galway, I might ask you to help me there at the garden occasionally.

    Aside from that I have a big dog called Bella and a cat called Luna who will share the apartment with us. It's pretty typical that Bella will be travelling with us in the car wherever we go.

    Outside of that you’ll have plenty of time to go to the city, go out, go on trips at the weekend, or take is easy if you prefer that.

    I usually have two volunteers staying with me at a time so that you have company when I'm in Dublin and so that you have someone to go and explore and go out with.

    Galway in Summer is hugely popular. There are events on pretty much every week. So in the evenings and weekends you'll have lots of scope to go explore and enjoy.

    Look forward to hearing from you.

    Best wishes
    Colm

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Galway is a very popular city, people tend to love it. You'll have plenty of freedom to go and explore the city and enjoy Galway life.

    You'll get to be part of a fun renovation project and in so doing learn or improve your DIY skills for if you ever want to do up your own house.

  • Help

    Help

    As described above. Mostly building work which changes day to day. Helpful if you have experience working will tools and your hands.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comfortable 2 bed apartment. If there is one Workawayer staying, they will have their own room, with a King bed and the main bathroom. The second will sleep on a king mattress in the living room. Honestly, most of the people who have stayed on the mattress seem to prefer that to the bedroom. It doesn't seem to be a problem.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Galway is a good base to explore the rest of Ireland... The Cliffs of Moher, The Aran Islands and Connemara are close by. Dublin is 2.5 hours travel away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

I'm the Irish looking man
A work in progress
Living room
Bedroom or study, not yet decided
Back of the house
Front of the house. Built 1870 approx
View from the kitchen window
Bella likes water (and stones)
Fleur the white one is missing. Still miss her.
Bella

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)





















Host ref number: 585711853929