Permaculture enthusiasts welcome some help with family meals and more in Ladysmith, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a beautiful and peaceful 5 acre property on Vancouver Island outside of Nanaimo/Ladysmith, BC. We are keen young(ish) permaculture enthusiasts who bought this property a year ago. We lease one acre of the property to a small mixed vegetable farm business to help feed our community fresh local food (workaway volunteers would not be asked to participate in the business). We also participate in a gleaning program where we pick fruit that might otherwise go to waste. What this means is that we have an ABUNDANCE of wonderful local food!
    We are located close to a beautiful park & ecological reserve with trails, and we are a few mins drive from a local rocky beach area where we sometimes swim in the ocean. We are about 20 mins from any town centre and so it would likely be easiest for any guests to have a vehicle, unless you are up for very quiet living close to home (which is quite beautiful really)! We are happy to lend bikes and kayaks for exploring our area and can drop workawayers in the city as needed when we go in.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Because of covid-19, we are prioritizing folks who have already been in BC for the past while, as we don't want to encourage traveling afar. The cultural exchange would likely focus on the specifics of Vancouver Island farm life! We have lots of knowledge, ideas and enthusiasm to share about organic gardening, agriculture, wildcrafting, and outdoor adventuring in this beautiful part of the world.

  • Help

    Help

    Because we live full lives and have diverse projects, we have some flexibility with what skills and tasks we are looking for. What we need most right now is for folks who enjoy cooking and food preservation who could help us make best use of the extra food that we keep from the farm (we won't ask you to do any work for the farm business). Meals in the freezer would be awesome! We also would be thrilled to have some help around the house with cleaning. We are open to what interested workawayers most want to contribute! There could be building projects, gardening (eg. planting trees), preparing wood for the winter, contributing to home maintenance (eg. cleanup, painting), offering extra hands for setting up a rainwater harvest system, etc. Let us know what you'd like to offer!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a large RV on the property that was home for 2 of us for a year prior to moving here, and it makes a perfect space for a workaway guest (or couple) who would like to help us out and experience Vancouver Island. The space has a good sized kitchen and living space as well as a bedroom. We would ask you to use the composting toilet outside or the bathrooms in the house. We are flexible with food and happy to share what's grown here on the property as well as groceries.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In case you're wondering, our "pets" are currently just 3 chickens who provide joy and eggs for our own use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We would use a range extender for internet connection from the RV but it may be a bit slow.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A van would likely be ok, however a larger motorhome wouldn't fit well. The location for parking would depend on power needs.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    ~4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 585619513258